Author Topic: Yaheydere  (Read 10104 times)

Offline PeaceHeather

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Yaheydere
« on: January 13, 2010, 02:17:13 PM »
Hello all,
I'm an intermittent geek, which is to say that when the mood strikes me, I'll dive into sims like this, and then I'll come up for air for several months before coming back around and diving in again.  I haven't even downloaded DarwinBots yet, but it looks extremely cool - mostly I've been playing with something called Darwin's Pond, and enjoying it immensely.

Apart from Alife type things, I'm a mom, henna artist, SCAdian, and general geek-of-all-trades - especially if they have pretty colors.  From the look of things, Darwinbots have pretty colors, so I should be good to go.

But here's the real reason I'm coming to the forum.

I came up with an idea for a sim/game last night, and based on other sims I've seen, it should be workable, but I'm not a programmer (okay, I guess I'm a geek-of-MOST-trades).  I do not have the FOGGIEST idea where or how to get something like this going.  I was wondering if DB has anything in it to simulate terrain, or if the bots could be programmed for different food types, sizes, speeds, all that good stuff.  Failing that, I was wondering if there are any programmer nerds around here with free time to play around with the concepts I'm working on.

It's one of those things that starts with simple parameters - although there are probably more of them than in a typical sim of this type - which you can combine to get a lot of complexity.  Users could build plant and animal lifeforms using those parameters, then throw them into the system and see what happens.  Since I was thinking of having different terrain types as well, users might even be able to build their own environment for the lifeforms to run around in.