Author Topic: Gravity bug in 2.37.5.  (Read 2716 times)

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« on: November 11, 2005, 05:18:26 PM »
When gravity is set to 0 some things still falls down in version 2.37.5!
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Ulciscor

  • Moderator
  • Bot Destroyer
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
    • http://spaces.msn.com/members/shadowedjustice
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2005, 08:52:35 AM »
This seems to be fixed in the version [PY] uploaded.
:D Ulciscor :D

I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2005, 10:05:46 AM »
Quote
This seems to be fixed in the version [PY] uploaded.
2.37.5 ... the version Testlund says he is using.
I find that gravity settings don't always 'take'.
don't know why ...
perhaps after changing it, he didn't hit 'change' to return to the sim.
who can say?
I do know that mutations ... ie ... the 2x or 4x slider ...
is not retained if one restarts ...
and is only there if one clicks 'change' to return to an already running sim.
so there are lots of those little quirks still to be explored.
with a sim that now runs pretty good without runtime errors ...
at least I can now start to experiment ...
to explore some of these bugs ... and report them.
who knows ... in another year or two ...
we might have 2.37.5 actually happening. :D lol
« Last Edit: November 12, 2005, 10:06:36 AM by Griz »
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2005, 10:13:37 AM »
I DID click on change, start new, quitting, restarting the program, nothing helps. Perfect if one allways want to run in pondmode, but sometimes one might want to run in the other mode.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Ulciscor

  • Moderator
  • Bot Destroyer
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
    • http://spaces.msn.com/members/shadowedjustice
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2005, 09:47:23 AM »
Can you give some instructions as to how this happened? I'll see if I can recreate it.
:D Ulciscor :D

I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2005, 10:33:26 AM »
Well... I f you look at the picture I've added to my post above you can see I've set it to start with Triangulus to the left, veggies all over the screen and Animal minimalis to the right. Then I just move the slider for gravity to 0 and start a new simulation, and as you can see on the picture some things is effected by gravity that isn't suppose to be there. Animal Minimalis and all corpses falls down. The rest stays put.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2005, 10:45:59 AM »
did you go and check that gravity setting after doing the restart?
you may have to first select 'change' ...
and then go back and select start new.
or, after restarting ... check that grav setting again ...
and select 'change' to continue, not restart, the sim ...
and see what happens.
as you have no doubt discovered ...
there are many, many, many ways to screw up ...
I'm still exploring many of them ;)
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline Ulciscor

  • Moderator
  • Bot Destroyer
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
    • http://spaces.msn.com/members/shadowedjustice
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2005, 10:54:27 AM »
Well as you so often say, garbage in -> garbage out.

Anyway, try as I might I can't reproduce this. My gravity slider starts on 0 anyway, if that's significant.
:D Ulciscor :D

I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2005, 11:08:10 AM »
I can only say that I used to run it in pond mode, but I wanted to try it in non-pond mode for once. I loaded up my favorite settings file and unchecked pond mode and changed gravity slider to 0 and started a new simulation, then the above happend. I went into the GUI again, moved the slider back and forth to make sure it was set to 0, then clicked change. No change. I try to quit, restart... Nothing works. But I have given up on 2.37.5 and is running 2.4.9. This version seems to work, finally. Knock on wood!
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
    • View Profile
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2005, 02:24:07 PM »
Thanks, it was alot of effort to get it to do so for everyone.

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2005, 03:54:58 PM »
Quote
Well as you so often say, garbage in -> garbage out.

Anyway, try as I might I can't reproduce this. My gravity slider starts on 0 anyway, if that's significant.
well it doesn't happen for me this way either ...
but then I haven't run pond mode.
just trying to give Testlund a shot at some things to double check ...
as not all setting do stay when you restart ...
but only when you click change.
as new start then resets them.
and ... not all settings are loaded in when saved ...
ad nums says ... most of them are ...
but it only takes one to screw it up ...
but screwed up is screwed up is screwed up ...
when one is trying to repeat consistantly.
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2005, 10:17:44 AM »
There is (and always has been) a strange effect of gravity and tied robots.
It seems that the presence of ties negates gravity (and bouyancy for that matter). I still haven't managed to figure out why yet.

I suspect that the gravity settings are effecting everything and that Triangulus is simply exhibiting a reluctance to obey the natural laws due to the presence of permanent ties.

Another one on the "look into" list for the GUI.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Ulciscor

  • Moderator
  • Bot Destroyer
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
    • http://spaces.msn.com/members/shadowedjustice
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2005, 01:22:16 PM »
We could work around this by attributing it to some strange physical relationship between ties and the ways in which gravity warps space time. Might be easier than tracking the bug down.  :lol:
:D Ulciscor :D

I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7713
    • View Profile
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2005, 01:34:13 PM »
Probably is related to the way in which accelerations are imparted to other bots in a multibot.

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Gravity bug in 2.37.5.
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2005, 02:14:08 PM »
That would be my guess. when you accelerate a bot on one end of a tie, the bot on the other end tends to get a shove in the opposite direction.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D