Author Topic: poison and venom not working  (Read 22880 times)

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #15 on: July 06, 2015, 02:02:24 PM »
There are some (very) old versions listed here.  You could try and get a baseline of when it was working.  From that we can probably binary search through the releases to find when it broke.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2015, 05:12:13 PM »
That is my point as well. I know I specifically tested all defenses when it was version 2.46.XX
All the defenses worked. There is something specific with the way Shadowgods code is designed. Numsgil, there should not be a need for the old binaries at this point bc me and shadow are certain it worked at least in v 2.45.01. Shadow, try storing venom for a while and firing it at a later time. One reason I was pissed off is I do not have access to a computer right now to try myself.
In general you guys try stuff and see if it works. Now I am thinking Shadow got hit with the same virus I did.
Sorry, can not help in any other way at this time. Still waiting for an apartment. Over and out.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2015, 05:20:48 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2015, 05:56:01 PM »
Take a look at this code here:

Code: [Select]
Private Sub Upkeep(n As Integer)
  Dim Cost As Single
  Dim ageDelta As Long
  With rob(n)
       
    'EricL 4/12/2006 Growing old is a bitch
    'Age Cost
    ageDelta = .age - CLng(SimOpts.Costs(AGECOSTSTART))
    If ageDelta > 0 And .age > 0 Then
      If SimOpts.Costs(AGECOSTMAKELOG) = 1 Then
        Cost = SimOpts.Costs(AGECOST) * Math.Log(ageDelta)
      ElseIf SimOpts.Costs(AGECOSTMAKELINEAR) = 1 Then
        Cost = SimOpts.Costs(AGECOST) + (ageDelta * SimOpts.Costs(AGECOSTLINEARFRACTION))
      Else
        Cost = SimOpts.Costs(AGECOST)
      End If
      .nrg = .nrg - (Cost * SimOpts.Costs(COSTMULTIPLIER))
    End If
 
    'BODY UPKEEP
    Cost = .body * SimOpts.Costs(BODYUPKEEP) * SimOpts.Costs(COSTMULTIPLIER)
    .nrg = .nrg - Cost
   
    'DNA upkeep cost
    Cost = (.DnaLen - 1) * SimOpts.Costs(DNACYCCOST) * SimOpts.Costs(COSTMULTIPLIER)
    .nrg = .nrg - Cost
   
    'degrade slime
    .Slime = .Slime * 0.98
    If .Slime < 0.5 Then .Slime = 0 ' To keep things sane for integer rounding, etc.
    .mem(821) = CInt(.Slime)
   
    'degrade poison
    .poison = .poison * 0.98
    If .poison < 0.5 Then .poison = 0 'Botsareus 3/15/2013 bug fix for poison so it does not change slime
    .mem(827) = CInt(.poison)
   
  End With
End Sub

This is the only fix I ever done that is poison related.  It was setting slime to zero before, ugliness plenty.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2015, 05:57:53 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #18 on: July 07, 2015, 12:57:15 AM »
um venom is working again and i swear it wasn't earlier at the start of this topic. i do admit that i did forget about the same species rule here recently due to fatigue with new land we got not too long ago and cleaning it up this weekend, sorry.
i however can't get poison to work still on any version. it shoots and hits but to effect. i'll look into it further tomorrow

the bots i am using:

Code: [Select]
' Alga minimalis
'
' Vegetable
'
' This robot has a single gene,
' necessary for it to reproduce.
' Energy is given to it by the program,
' by checking the "autotroph" box.

cond
  *.nrg
  6000
  >
start
  50
  .repro
  store
  15
  .aimdx
  store
stop

start
1 .strpoison store
1000 .pval store
.aimdx .ploc store
stop
end

modified to shoot -1 shots
Code: [Select]
start
10 .strvenom store
.shoot .vloc store
-2 .venval store
stop

cond
*.robage 10 mod 0
start
-1 .shoot store
100 .shootval store0
stop
end

Botsareus (and anyone else in the same boat, me close behind) i don't blame you for not believing me.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2015, 01:14:48 AM by Shadowgod2 »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #19 on: July 10, 2015, 11:02:43 AM »


For strpoison I would use something like:

Code: [Select]
*.nrg 500 div .strpoison store
« Last Edit: July 10, 2015, 03:32:18 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #20 on: July 10, 2015, 11:09:01 AM »
Also, get rid of the shootval completely.

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 387
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #21 on: July 13, 2015, 12:43:19 AM »
ok this is confusing, firstly some bots don't fire poison after a while when hit, then when they do the poison doesn't take effect for like 90% of the time for a start up size and gets worse as the shooting bot gets bigger or the constant store value decreases from 4. 5+ seems to be reliable for a constant store, start up bot size. i also see no drop in poison when hit.
is this supposed to happen?

earlier i couldn't get it to work even with a 100 constant store.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #22 on: July 14, 2015, 08:07:36 AM »
Poison works of a power calculation. If a shot is too powerful or is fired by a bigger bot then there are more chances to get a energy shot back instead of poison. That is why you need large amount of poison for it to work correctly. As far as the poison not going back down, may be you are creating it and it gets normalized too fast by a multiple of .98 and all you are seeing is a false positive.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2015, 08:09:26 AM by Botsareus »

Offline spike43884

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #23 on: July 15, 2015, 12:42:14 PM »
false positive.
Why are there so many brilliant words and phrases....Like Confabulation.
Autism can allow so much joy, and at the same time sadness to be seen. Our world is weird, and full of contradiction everywhere, yet somehow at moments seems to come together, and make near perfect sense.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #24 on: July 19, 2015, 06:29:46 PM »
I am going to go digging trough the code to see if the value passed trough poison effects the poisons effectiveness...

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #25 on: July 19, 2015, 06:43:07 PM »
No, apparently not. I see writing a poison ivy plant in my future that stores 32000 for .pval. And .up for .ploc.

Offline spike43884

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #26 on: July 20, 2015, 05:13:18 AM »
No, apparently not. I see writing a poison ivy plant in my future that stores 32000 for .pval. And .up for .ploc.
Could somehow the value being stored increment above what the poison should set it to, or the poison effect it twice over. If so, then it could be exceeding the maximum value a bots memory can hold.
Autism can allow so much joy, and at the same time sadness to be seen. Our world is weird, and full of contradiction everywhere, yet somehow at moments seems to come together, and make near perfect sense.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #27 on: July 20, 2015, 01:07:35 PM »
I was not being too serios. Obviosly there should be some kind of safe gard against moving 32000 .up
Just do not recall what and where. Maybe a little more digging may help.

Offline spike43884

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 656
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #28 on: July 22, 2015, 05:13:16 AM »
I was not being too serios. Obviosly there should be some kind of safe gard against moving 32000 .up
Just do not recall what and where. Maybe a little more digging may help.
There *should* be a safeguard yes. If theres a fully functioning one, well thats a totally different topic :)
Autism can allow so much joy, and at the same time sadness to be seen. Our world is weird, and full of contradiction everywhere, yet somehow at moments seems to come together, and make near perfect sense.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: poison and venom not working
« Reply #29 on: July 22, 2015, 10:06:37 AM »
There is a sufficient safe guard based on max velocity that you can set. The costs for movement are calculated afterword.