Author Topic: These overflow errors in IM  (Read 1306 times)

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
These overflow errors in IM
« on: October 27, 2014, 03:57:30 AM »
I'm still crashing when running in IM. It happened several times last night only displaying a message that says it's an overflow. Eventually I was able to restart in Safe Mode after which, of course, there were no more overflows.

Does anybody else get this error message where it only says it's an overflow instead of "run-time error" when you run a single instance in IM? If not, then maybe it has something to do with me running multiple instances. This seems like a long shot though because they should be completely different processes and shouldn't have anything to do with each other.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline MacadamiaNuts

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 273
    • View Profile
    • http://www.franontanaya.com/blog/
Re: These overflow errors in IM
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2014, 04:17:31 AM »
I get crashes on IM (on Linux) but I think they were still Run time 6 errors.
Sometimes you win, and sometimes you lose...

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Re: These overflow errors in IM
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2014, 06:48:44 AM »
I just got that now, a few seconds after I started IM. Now I'm trying to run with a single instance only.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Re: These overflow errors in IM
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2014, 07:00:45 AM »
I finally got this message that tells me what files to send, which should make it easier for Botsareus to debug. Unfortunately no "localcopy.sim" or "lastautosave.sim" were created, so I'm uploading a zip with the files "Global.gset", "lastran.set" and "All my bots - START.sim".

The error should appear shortly after you load the sim and start IM.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2014, 07:12:30 AM by Testlund »
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: These overflow errors in IM
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2014, 10:19:36 AM »
You actually have to go to global settings and enable safe mode from now on. Since otherwise there is a global error ignore what you are most likely getting is a hack attack. I'll leave it @ that until I am convinced otherwise.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Re: These overflow errors in IM
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2014, 11:44:50 AM »
I already have Safe Mode enabled in the Global settings.

If these errors happens because of hacking it must be at the server in which case everybody connected to it should get these errors. ..in theory at least. I don't experience any hacking attempts on my computer.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: These overflow errors in IM
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2014, 10:12:21 PM »
Testlund, I just got an error myself. Looks like my simulation magically died on me sometime last night. I am going to see what is going on, should be fun.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: These overflow errors in IM
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2014, 10:20:55 PM »
Testlund, a direct hack attack is usually a last resort mission and does not work very well. A better attack is to introduce corruption in the legitimate data to force a program to fail natively. Main reason why after this little adventure I am moving all my web projects to open source. I just do not want to deal with it. I really beginning wonder how long titan fall will remain afloat before they realize it is just a black hole for cash.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: These overflow errors in IM
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2014, 11:59:45 AM »
I did indeed find a possible overflow error just now. Did not have time to do anything with it yet.