Author Topic: Serios issues with windows8  (Read 2026 times)

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Serios issues with windows8
« on: September 25, 2014, 02:55:03 PM »
It is incredible how poorly something programed in vb6 runs in windows 8. I just had first hand experience. The worst of all is the unpredictable simulation hangs when you reconfig. settings. Anyone can advice on this, I personally have no idea what do about it.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 03:03:35 PM »
Can it be possible that DB2.45.01 activeX components do not match what I have in my package?

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2014, 03:09:50 PM »
Main reason why I ask: My package has the exact same run time librarys as version 2.45.01. There is nothing 'extra' about it. But people keep modifing the wiki on my to make it sound like you have to install the DB2.45 package, then make a backup of all files, then uninstall the package, then install the same package (2.48.15) being it is totally absurd.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2014, 08:35:45 PM »
Alright, I have something. Now if only I can track the memory leak.

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2014, 01:12:44 PM »
The issue I got with win8/win10 is that after running a sim for a short while. I can't adjust most settings. They're pretty much set in stone after starting the sim...
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline shvarz

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1341
    • View Profile
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2014, 01:16:01 PM »
I had the same thing. It was due to opening a graph, any graph, and it persisted even if you closed it. Bots found and fixed the bug, latest versions work fine for me, but I always go into properties and turn on WinXP compatibility just in case.
"Never underestimate the power of stupid things in big numbers" - Serious Sam

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2014, 01:45:42 PM »
Ah, after checking it does happen when you open a graph. WinXP compatibility doesn't help me.
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2014, 02:56:53 PM »
It should be fixed in latest version.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2014, 02:58:44 PM »
What version are you currently finding it in?

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2014, 03:02:44 PM »
The messed up leagues should be fixed also.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2014, 03:13:47 PM »
Where did you get a beta of 10 from? :)

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2014, 03:20:07 PM »
Oh, btw, the error was caused by

optionsform.Show vbModal

the old version it was just

optionsform.Show

What is the difference? you may ask

If you do now specify vbModal it thinks it is ok to keep running the simulator while the windows is open, that means if you try to change the settings it is no comprendo because the simulation is still running.

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2014, 03:50:26 PM »
Oh sorry. Does run on the lastest version!

I had the last version in a db folder that got corrupted, league bug. That folder still gives a access error with any version. Started a older version in a different folder, but forgot I did.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2014, 03:52:25 PM by Peter »
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2014, 06:04:26 PM »
Can I get a zip of that folder? I smell a bug fix already. Happened to me before, I know how to fix it, but the current 'fix' is not user friendly.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Serios issues with windows8
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2014, 09:38:48 PM »
... If you do not want to waste time on a zip just delete restartmode.gset from the folder, copy the latest exe to that folder and rerun the league. This should never happen in a working league so maybe a bug fix is not necessary. Cheers.