Author Topic: 32k crash  (Read 1956 times)

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
32k crash
« on: February 23, 2014, 12:20:08 AM »
i've been trying to do zerobots but when the bots reach 32000 cycles old after startup there is a runtime error overload. it happens to any bot that reaches 32k though usually takes a while for one to reach it.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2014, 12:55:17 AM by Shadowgod2 »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2014, 12:21:31 PM »
I'll play with it. Thanks for the find.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2014, 12:48:04 PM »
Shadowgod, can you also please give me the robots (.txt) used in your simulation?

See picky for explanation of why I ask:

I have used alga_v2 with reproduction disabled and it worked fine. I guess I have to mimic your settings exactly. thx.

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2014, 01:00:58 AM »
sure. i have also have a sim for you to see if it works or in this case doesn't work. i tried a smaller sim of just 5 zero bots only and it went on for over 200k cycles before i closed out but with 90 it crashes and it's only between the 32k and 34k autosaves. i just checked where this crash takes place and it's between 70 and 80 bots that this crash happens

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2014, 09:14:08 AM »
Lol, I am losing my mind. Shadowgod, I have put safemode in place just to catch crashes such as this one.
Why the heck should I wait 32k cycles or more?

Please follow these instructions

Sorry for wasting you time a little there, but was probably worth while to get the robots anyway in case they repopulate.

You do not need to include global.gset unless they changed between now and when you posted the original. The same for the settings file. Your simulation file however is useless, I need a more resent one generated by the autosave system.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2014, 09:21:37 AM by Botsareus »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2014, 10:41:18 AM »
I am probably going to find it eventually anyway, but it is worth while to catch it now because your settings are already configured to catch it. Thx and sorry for the confusion, my bad.

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2014, 11:29:23 PM »
at the rate i'm going i will have a reproducer before it catches it :dry:

should it ask to save as it closes out or should it just stop?
« Last Edit: February 24, 2014, 11:33:21 PM by Shadowgod2 »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2014, 10:48:34 AM »
Actually, it should just crash with an "overload" error, might want to "end process tree" from teh end task menu at this point.
Then restart it and run it some more until you see a different message other then "do you want to enter diagnostic mode?" It is a little annoying, but it will get me a nice 2K cycles window I can work with w/o wasting my time. Thx.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2014, 05:42:37 PM »
Sounds like it is just slow... fix coming soon. I think Dumpling is having the same problem.

Offline MysticalDumpling

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Kurwa chuj!
    • View Profile
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2014, 06:28:38 PM »
Quote
I think Dumpling is having the same problem
Sadly that is true
Quote
Dumpling
Whoah. Never saw my username that way  :dry:
To być albo nie być, oto jest ze pytanie

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2014, 11:55:16 PM »
hmm my computer doesn't have end process tree. this is annoying :dry:

the way it is i get over 300 cycles a sec with graphics turned off so it isn't slow is it?
« Last Edit: February 26, 2014, 12:02:24 AM by Shadowgod2 »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2014, 11:00:43 AM »
As I understand it just freezes for long periods of time. Right? There is no such thing as a 'run time error overload'
Anyway, it should be somewhat faster now. See announcements.

If it is still freezing, look up online how to fully end task an app for your version of windows.

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2014, 11:41:40 PM »
overflow sorry

still happens
« Last Edit: March 09, 2014, 11:45:30 PM by Shadowgod2 »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2014, 09:34:55 PM »
Kill the proccess.

Run darwinbots again.

It should ask you "Do you want to enter diagnostic mode?"

Click 'Yes'

Keep running until it crashes.

Kill the proccess.

Run darwinbots again.

It should ask you "Do you want to enter diagnostic mode?" or "Please give adminstrator blablabla files"

If it is the second one, please give me the files. If it is not, do steps again.

It is not that hard man, just make sure you have safe mode enabled in global settings.

edit: I am personally getting a strange feeling that Corry is being full of shit.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2014, 09:48:21 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: 32k crash
« Reply #14 on: March 10, 2014, 11:55:08 PM »
uncalled for >:( i am not making this up

i am trying to find a better sets and still be quick about evolving them