Author Topic: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional  (Read 4214 times)

Offline PhiNotPi

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« on: February 10, 2014, 09:01:52 PM »
I have been using Darwinbots for several years, probably all the way back to 2010.  In all that time, I have never seen a single robot teleported into my sim from the internet.  Maybe I've gotten unlucky, only running sims when IM was down.  Maybe I've never managed to configure my settings properly.  I'm relatively certain, however, that IM is simply broken.

As far as I can tell, there is no evidence that Internet Mode even exists!  For all I know, it might all be a conspiracy or scam!

The internet teleporter always sucks up my good robots, but never gives me anything in return.  They are simply deleted, or otherwise cast into the empty void that is the internet.  It's like a black hole, more than once has my "king robot" fallen through the event horizon.

I really hope that we can find a fix for IM, hopefully sometime soon.
I am biased neither towards nor against any single mathematical constant.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2014, 11:48:01 AM »
Breaking news: NO ONE CARES!

I have tried to get other people to care, my php is not that strong and I am working on other things.
It seems like anyone who attempts to help with IM magically vanishes  :wacko:
First it was Ammeh, now Peter.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2014, 01:59:23 PM »
Quote
As far as I can tell, there is no evidence that Internet Mode even exists!  For all I know, it might all be a conspiracy or scam!

 :rant:  I agree, Prove me wrong people! Prove me wrong!

Offline MysticalDumpling

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Kurwa chuj!
    • View Profile
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2014, 03:39:30 PM »
WHY, CRUEL WORLD WHY? IM seems like fun...

I can't help- I only know C++ (barely) and HTML  :dry:
To być albo nie być, oto jest ze pytanie

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2014, 03:52:24 PM »
Where can I find the existing PHP code?

edit: I thought I asked this before at some point.  :P
« Last Edit: February 11, 2014, 04:01:58 PM by Peter »
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2014, 12:53:19 AM »
I don't think the PHP code ever got far enough to work :/

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2014, 11:27:30 AM »
Button line is, we just need to get to the code so we can fix it, no matter what state it is in. Thx.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2014, 03:05:54 PM »
Quote
I don't think the PHP code ever got far enough to work :/

I think Numsgil was considering a reply to my PM about how to get to the pHp code anyway. :/ I hope he replys by Friday.
Obviously we are going in circles here, what are we supposed to do if pHp does not work? I even considered getting free pHp Hosting in my PM to Numsgil if we he does not want us messing on his server, no reply. Any other ideas? I am open to heir them. We are going no where fast with this thing.
Will asp.net be a cleaner solution then pHp?

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2014, 03:42:08 PM »
Sorry, I am pretty much spamming by this point but:

If IM does not work, why is it so clearly defined on the wiki? It clearly says that Shasta has a working version, what does that mean? Does it even work?

I would really, really like answers to all the questions presented here. I was supposed to help Testlund today but I was too obsessed to getting to the bottom of this to care.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2014, 03:55:45 PM »
I even tryed the GUIM system, it clearly says: "The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found."
Also, it does not even recognize the Darwin2.46.02BetaH unless I rename it to "Darwin2.45.01" what kind of crap is that?

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2014, 05:16:51 PM »
Will asp.net be a cleaner solution then pHp?
I think(?) the current server is linux based. So no asp.net, I also don't think asp.net is a good solution for this.

Sorry bots, I didn't put any time in it so far. Combination of wait and see and being lazy. Maybe after valentine I'll play a bit around with some code(no promises though). How hard can it be!  :closedeyes:
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2014, 06:13:51 PM »
I messaged Shasta.  There's also some work to be done on the server before I can open it up to be played with.  Need to sandbox an area for this to limit the damage when things go badly.  That shouldn't stop anyone from installing Apache or IIS on their machine locally and developing, which is what I'd recommend doing anyway before it hits the actual server.

The server does (or did at one point) have mono installed, so asp.net could work as well as anything else.

At least some of the work Shasta did involved hacking the Darwinbots EXE to peek at memory values at certain hex offsets and fun things like that.  It required manually finding the offsets for each version, which was a fair bit of work.  That's probably why it's trying to find specific versions of executables.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2014, 05:29:15 PM »
Thanks guys, I was beginning to feel like an ass for spamming  :happy:
I recommend everyone to see the new Robocop movie to get your rage and frustration out if so.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2014, 06:10:47 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2014, 01:22:12 PM »
Quote
At least some of the work Shasta did involved hacking the Darwinbots EXE to peek at memory values at certain hex offsets and fun things like that.  It required manually finding the offsets for each version, which was a fair bit of work.

Ok, so my guess is we are waiting for Botsareus to complete all changes before proceeding...

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Breaking news: Internet Mode horrible, non-functional
« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2014, 01:34:58 PM »
You know what? That sounds like a complete pain in the ass. I will be making another mod after IM (that is if) IM is implemented. I think we need just a simple IM without all the assembly stuff. Agree?