Author Topic: What I need done in mutations  (Read 9705 times)

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« on: April 19, 2005, 04:53:52 PM »
1.) Insert a new value works for settings files ( my plasment control for settings files to if its not lost)

2.) I like PY's sliders he included in the mutation rates , I want them to actualy mutate and work for each robot seporatly, I cant say what there defult range should be , I use PY standerd it works fine exsept:
Quote
cond
30 'number
20 'number
>

is the same as

Quote
4 'number
1 'number
>
The solution is not to let two numbers mutate in one cond part.

3.) (Sliders Part Two) I need new sliders to reprosent the following:
The chance to insert *number , or *.sysvar, or any-number, or .sysvar-or-number
Into the actions part of the gene.

4.) All Mutation Rates are saved in the robots dna file , simuler to the way hash saves (but dont incript too heavy please)

5.)A Minor Bug with inserting [you]new instructions [/you]and [you]new values[/you]:
Quote
  While pos < fd
    If ppos = pos Then Exit Function
    ppos = pos
    pos = NextElement(DNA, pos, 4, 2) + 1 'position of the start element
    endg = NextElement(DNA, pos, 4, 3)    'end of the gene
    While pos <= endg
      If Random(1, prob) = 1 Then
        If MakeSpace(DNA, pos, 1) Then
          DNA(pos).tipo = 2
          DNA(pos).value = Random(1, 9)
          x = x + "Inserted instr," + Instrname(DNA(pos).value) + ", at pos " + CStr(pos) + vbCrLf
          InsertRandomInstr = InsertRandomInstr + 1
         'pos = pos +1 'MUST BE ADDED HERE
        End If
      End If
      pos = pos + 1
    Wend
  Wend

For bouth functions , the system forgets to skip positions after inserting a new value , witch means that all the new values and instructions always end up in the bigging of the gene.

6.)I cant even biggin to describe what happens if all rates or portions of rates are set to "1", I never seen so mutch hang-ups. As a long term project we need to fix the mutations not to mutate the dna so mutch that it causes hang-ups in the run time.


***
Num, How do you wont the charts to "save"?

***
If you need help on any of the items above please specify

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2005, 05:06:04 PM »
Quote
6.)I cant even biggin to describe what happens if all rates or portions of rates are set to "1", I never seen so mutch hang-ups. As a long term project we need to fix the mutations not to mutate the dna so mutch that it causes hang-ups in the run time.
 :blink:
There must be something wrong with your system if this hangs up.
That is precisely the way that I test all the mutations.
Set them all to one and let it run. I can run for hours this way with multiple restarts and never once get a hang up.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2005, 05:08:47 PM »
Quote
That is precisely the way that I test all the mutations.
Set them all to one and let it run. I can run for hours this way with multiple restarts and never once get a hang up.

Famous last words.   :redface:

Just tried it one more time and the sim hung up before it even started properly.

Wonder which one of the settings is causing that then.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2005, 05:09:48 PM »
6.) When "Portions of rates" (some rates) are set to 1... (I actualy acheved this by letting the rates jumb up and down like crazy  when I was complaining that mutation rate of mutation rates was changing it too little) Its still in there PY, unless ?you fixed it?

rofl , good voca: Portions = some

anyway we still got :

1.)...
2.)...
3.)...
4.)...
5.)...
6.)read post ^
« Last Edit: April 19, 2005, 05:11:30 PM by Botsareus »

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2005, 05:19:46 PM »
Quote
rofl , good voca: Portions = some

WTF  :blink:

What does this mean?

I don't speak Gibberish.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2005, 05:23:02 PM »
A.) If only [you]some rates [/you]are set to "1" and [you]some rates [/you]are set to ("1250" or "1500") then we get "hang-ups"

B.) voca. = vocabulary (for the lack of good spelling)

C.) 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. ^ still need to reply to thouse....
« Last Edit: April 19, 2005, 05:23:57 PM by Botsareus »

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2005, 05:24:37 PM »
Well you won't be getting it from me tonight cuz I'm going home.

Bye  :laugh:
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2005, 05:31:40 PM »
Cya , Dont Delay for more then a week please...

What about you Num, Still working on 3d games?

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2005, 05:33:31 PM »
6.  I've noticed this some times actually.  There's an infinite loop somewhere in the code.  Problem is I have no idea where it is or what it is.  You can't even pause the VB code during the problem because events aren't being registered anymore.

Such a pain.

Charts:  You mean my reference to graphs in the simulations tools thread?  Probably comma deliminated(?) text file, like the snapshot utility.

Code: [Select]
3.  If I understand you correctly, you want to be able to control A, B, and (A or B) all seperately, right?  To get A or B given A and B, you take 100% - (A * B).  If we let you control A or B seperately, it creates a whole slew of statistical problems that I don't want to mess with, to be honest.
2.  I don't understand exactly what you're getting at.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2005, 05:40:49 PM by Numsgil »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2005, 05:33:44 PM »
Quote
Just tried it one more time and the sim hung up before it even started properly.

I really should start reading all the posts man...

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2005, 05:35:46 PM »
Yeah, been working on 3D programming off and on.  I've got stars, a sun, and a planet that you can navigate through with the mouse.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2005, 05:38:54 PM »
anyway thats 6...


3.) Using the Py Slider controls , yes.
you know stuff like this:
=====\/==
==\/=====
===\/====
IN THE MUTPROB FORM

2.)  A: I need the sliders to work seporate for each robot.
 B: The quotes are an example of somthing that must not happen in the dna code when the cond part of the gene mutates, Look at the quotes they are the same as true.. and false..  ex:  9 5 > = true , 9 5 < = false , now whats the use of having dummy conditions evolve so often?
« Last Edit: April 19, 2005, 05:39:39 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2005, 05:44:45 PM »
3.) The new once will be four sliders from 0 to 10
===\/=== *.anynumber is 10
===\/=== *.sysvar is 5
===\/=== anynumber is 3
===\/=== sysvar is 4

generate a random number from 0 to (10+5+3+4)

0 to 10+ 0 to 5 + 0 to 3 + 0 to 4

5 = first type

------> 14 = 2nd type

---------> 16 = 3rd type

-----------------> 20 = 4rth type
« Last Edit: April 19, 2005, 05:51:38 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2005, 05:49:08 PM »
How do sliders mutate? 3 sliders from 0 to 10 a , b , c

A mutated: 2 (a = a +- 1)
B mutated: 3
C mutated: 4

total: 9

slider total avrage: 15


15/9 = A1/2
15/9 = B1/3
15/9 = C1/4

Just to make it easy on the user...

A = A1
B = B1
C = C1

fin...
« Last Edit: April 19, 2005, 05:53:08 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
What I need done in mutations
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2005, 05:52:10 PM »
2.  Because a condition is always true or always false doesn't mean we shouldn't be able to mutate it.

And to be honest, trying to police mutations is impossible.  There'll always be mutations we deem 'pointless' that fall through any cracks we leave.  And some 'pointless' mutations are actually worth developing.  Just let them do whatever you can possibly imagine.  Something interesting is bound to develop.

3.  I think my stats knowledge was wrong in my last post.  Nevermind the man behind the curtain...

I don't think you should be able to control that chance to A or B independantly of A and B.  That is, if:

*.sysvar = 33%
*number = 33%
number = 34%

then the chance of *.sysvars or *number should be 66%.  (*.sysvars + *number).
« Last Edit: April 19, 2005, 05:54:40 PM by Numsgil »