Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 7354 times)

Offline Nitus

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
« on: April 15, 2005, 03:39:56 AM »
Hello.

I discovered DB a few days ago at HotU, and I've spent most of the last two days evolving a strain of bots through natural selection. Basically keep hand-populating veggies all over until a few generations have gone by with huge populations, then let it stabilize into a small population feeding at a small cluster of veggies, then repeat. Then repeat with un-blocked veggies a few times. Then back to blocked veggies.

Every so often I would let the veggie population dwindle until only the hardiest five variants of my bot were left, then start the whole process over again with all five of those competing at the start.

After a few days of this, my bot's code doubled. The intense competition seems to have worked for it.

Anyway, I just started learning the bot code, and it looks like most of mines' is junk.

My question is simple. The help files say that the sysvars utlilize memory cells, but it doesn't say which ones. I am assuming that if I use one of them by mistake it will throw everything off.

Thanks!

Offline Numsgil

• Administrator
  • Bot God
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2005, 03:53:59 AM »
You can easily check which sysvars use which memory locations by looking at your sysvars2.21.txt file.  It will have the sysvar followed by the memory location.

Most mutated bots are very very junky.  It's sometimes very hard to figure out exactly what it's doing.

Have you tried competing your bots against the original?  That's really the acid test of a mutation in my book.

Offline Nitus

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2005, 04:08:57 PM »
Ah, I didn't see that file, thanks.