Author Topic: Too Big / Too Small  (Read 6931 times)

Offline EmperorNero

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Too Big / Too Small
« on: July 13, 2010, 01:32:24 PM »
A friendly hello!
I have some questions regarding the tendency of simulations to turn out bots with a energy/body mismatch; i.e. huge body and low energy or tiny body and high energy. This seems to always screw up the simulation sooner or later, for me anyways. I either get big berthas or masses of tiny, frail bots.

So I have two questions, I appreciate any input since I'm new to db.
- Why do bots live forever? Real organisms get weak when they get old, that isn't implemented in db at all. That's why bots that lose their ability to reproduce don't go away but rather grow huge and eat everything in their path. Without any limitations on age, the whole simulation essentially becomes a race to losing your repro gene and becoming the childless killer-oldster.

- Why aren't bots with weak body strength sufficiently disadvantaged? In reality weak organisms would die, but in db masses of frail bots are fast and agile and can feed themselves by grazing the map.

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2010, 01:37:44 PM by EmperorNero »

Offline Numsgil

• Administrator
  • Bot God
    • View Profile
Re: Too Big / Too Small
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2010, 02:00:10 PM »
- Why do bots live forever? Real organisms get weak when they get old, that isn't implemented in db at all. That's why bots that lose their ability to reproduce don't go away but rather grow huge and eat everything in their path. Without any limitations on age, the whole simulation essentially becomes a race to losing your repro gene and becoming the childless killer-oldster.