Author Topic: connection IM?  (Read 1892 times)

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« on: September 24, 2008, 03:44:01 PM »
What do these lines have to do?
Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
I gues you're having these too, Eric. But just to be sure I post this. I thought this had to do something with overall IM-connection problems.
As you can see, I do get some bots in. Atleast the log says so, I can't find them back. But I'll trust the log.

Something that bothers me something too, are the low imports of bots. Only one bot at a time, is that becouse of your low bot-output or the con-problems.
If it is your small output, could you then make your teleporter bigger(if that is possible) I like transfer as big as possible.

And 'Shrinking Violet 2', was the first not bad enough.

Here you see the first of the IM-sim I jus started.
Quote
24-9-2008 21:06:50: Deleted population file EricL.pop
24-9-2008 21:06:52: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:06:52: Deleted population file EricL.pop.del
24-9-2008 21:06:52: Deleted population file EricL2.pop
24-9-2008 21:06:53: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:06:53: Deleted population file EricL2.pop.del
24-9-2008 21:06:53: Deleted population file Peter.pop.del
24-9-2008 21:07:04: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:07:04: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:07:06: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:07:12: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:07:18: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:07:55: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:07:55: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:07:57: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:08:03: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:08:03: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:08:47: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:10:17: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:10:17: Seasnake 1 8020 6557 5867 29 7920 teleported in from EricL
24-9-2008 21:10:20: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:10:25: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:10:25: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:12:11: Excalibur.txt sent to internet.
24-9-2008 21:13:06: Excalibur.txt sent to internet.
24-9-2008 21:13:33: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:13:33: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:13:36: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:13:41: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:13:48: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:14:40: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:19:51: spinner.txt sent to internet.
24-9-2008 21:23:18: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:23:18: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:23:20: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:23:26: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:23:29: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:23:37: Republican_Bee.txt sent to internet.
24-9-2008 21:24:56: Republican_Bee.txt sent to internet.
24-9-2008 21:25:01: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:25:01: spinner.txt teleported in from Peter
24-9-2008 21:25:03: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:25:09: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:25:14: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:27:21: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:27:21: Shrinking Violet 2.txt teleported in from EricL2
24-9-2008 21:27:23: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:27:29: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:27:29: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:27:35: Republican_Bee.txt sent to internet.
24-9-2008 21:29:03: Excalibur.txt sent to internet.
24-9-2008 21:29:50: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:29:50: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:29:52: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:29:58: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:30:04: Error disconnecting Unable to connect to remote host
24-9-2008 21:30:30: Excalibur.txt sent to internet.
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2008, 04:14:10 PM »
Is there a reason why I am not able to see graphts when in IM.

Further I see a lot of connections with pretty some ports. Are those all needed.(see, attachment)
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2008, 04:26:18 PM »
All the code does is use FTP on port 21.   64.202.163.2 must be the IP address of darwinbots.com.  The 192.168... stuff is all local LAN stuff, either firewall or DNS or proxy server or some such implicit communication triggered by the FTP calls higher up the stack.  It may be related to all the errors your getting.  Are you on a corporate network using a proxy server?


Many beers....

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2008, 04:34:01 PM »
Quote from: EricL
All the code does is use FTP on port 21.   64.202.163.2 must be the IP address of darwinbots.com.  The 192.168... stuff is all local LAN stuff, either firewall or DNS or proxy server or some such implicit communication triggered by the FTP calls higher up the stack.  It may be related to all the errors your getting.  Are you on a corporate network using a proxy server?
But it doesn't use port 20. I get a lot of connections with port 20 going towards port 4000-4100. Well pretty much ass you can see anyway.
I am currently not on a corporate network.
And I am this moment as far I know also not at a proxyserver. Altrough I don't know how my ISP handles the connection further.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 04:34:38 PM by Peter »
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2008, 04:41:44 PM »
Port 21 is the command port, port 20 is used for the data (bot and population file) transfer by the FTP libraries.

The other ports are probably short lived ephemeral ports used to receive replies to FTP operations.

FTP Protocol Overview
« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 04:46:07 PM by EricL »
Many beers....

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2008, 05:07:16 PM »
Quote from: EricL
Port 21 is the command port, port 20 is used for the data (bot and population file) transfer by the FTP libraries.

The other ports are probably short lived ephemeral ports used to receive replies to FTP operations.

FTP Protocol Overview
I already though port 21 had to do something with it, it is close to 20.

Can't find any reference in the router that it is blocking anything that comes from this.

I gues it would be a good idea if others with the same problem also post. I believe I am not the only only one with those connection problems. I think it is strange it works for a part, if something was blocking something it would probably be for the whole broke.
If I understand it right you don't have a single problem, Eric?
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2008, 05:21:10 PM »
Quote from: Peter
If I understand it right you don't have a single problem, Eric?
The only problem I experience is that my connection fails after a day or two.  Restarting the simulator addresses that and it probably has something to do with server session limits.  Switching to the out-of-proc FTP connection code Nums has provided me (which I plan to do at some point) moving to a different FTP server or both may address this.

Occasional, temporary errors are to be expected due to collisions on files.  Part of me just wants to hide the log window as it gives the often incorrect impression there are problems.  One can generally ignore the errors if bots are coming through and the Internet Populations graph is working correctly.  The simulator should be resilient to such problems.

My log is attached.
Many beers....

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2008, 01:48:21 PM »
Quote from: EricL
Occasional, temporary errors are to be expected due to collisions on files.  Part of me just wants to hide the log window as it gives the often incorrect impression there are problems.  One can generally ignore the errors if bots are coming through and the Internet Populations graph is working correctly.  The simulator should be resilient to such problems.

My log is attached.
Internet population graph doesn't really work. I doesn't open. Is that an sign.
Hiding the log-window, is maybe something for later. If IM can be guarenteed 100%.

How many do there come at IM, I see nobody else besides you.(that was when I could see the IM graphs properly).
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2008, 02:54:05 PM »
The IM Population graph opens automatically when you enter internet mode.  Are you certain it's not behind your main sim window?

I have 2 machines connected to IM at the moment.  Usually 3 or 4 others join throughout the day then go away.
Many beers....

Offline Peter

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2008, 03:14:30 PM »
No, there not behind the main sim window.

The graphs where minimised, and they're not coming back at screen if I click at them.
Now I don't have that problem. Except the graphs just come in very slowly. The sim itself also loads slow if I try to maximise it.
And sometimes the graphs just become white all over.
Short, sometimes the sim and graphs look stuck. It looks like it are periodes(maybe graph updating??) where the sim and graphs act stuck.

Anyway image attached of the blank graphs. Maybe you get an idea.

Edit
With slow I mean, I could take a minute before you would see the graphs/sim popup.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2008, 03:16:27 PM by Peter »
Oh my god, who the hell cares.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
connection IM?
« Reply #10 on: September 26, 2008, 04:04:53 PM »
This is due to the single threadedness of the simulator.   The graphs go blank while waiting for the simulator to calculate the data points.  The genetic and generational distance graphs are particularly cpu intensive, particularly when you have a large number of bots of the same species.
Many beers....