Author Topic: Possible movement cost bug. RESOLVED (NO REPRO)  (Read 1440 times)

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Possible movement cost bug. RESOLVED (NO REPRO)
« on: April 05, 2008, 08:12:42 PM »
Appears that movement costs overrides rotating costs instead of working independently.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2008, 10:45:43 AM by EricL »
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Possible movement cost bug. RESOLVED (NO REPRO)
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2008, 09:16:25 PM »
Sorry, what am I supposed to be looking at here?
Many beers....

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
    • View Profile
Possible movement cost bug. RESOLVED (NO REPRO)
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2008, 09:27:18 PM »
Double check and see if rotational costs are getting charged if voluntary motion costs are also getting charged.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Possible movement cost bug. RESOLVED (NO REPRO)
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2008, 09:29:36 PM »
Quote from: Numsgil
Double check and see if rotational costs are getting charged if voluntary motion costs are also getting charged.
Rotational costs are charged for rotation.  Voluntary movement costs are charged for net movement in a given direction.  Bots can be charged for both in the same cycle depending on what they do....
Many beers....

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7714
    • View Profile
Possible movement cost bug. RESOLVED (NO REPRO)
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2008, 10:21:38 PM »
Are you sure?  See this post.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Possible movement cost bug. RESOLVED (NO REPRO)
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2008, 10:36:31 PM »
Yes, I'm sure.  Movement and turning are in completly different areas of the code.  The costs are totally unrelated and applied independently.  I have verified this.  I see no bug.


Many beers....

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Possible movement cost bug. RESOLVED (NO REPRO)
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2008, 03:23:10 AM »
I'm afraid Eric is right. Tested it again whith this save. I don't get it. I'm 100% sure it didn't apply the costs as I said. It must have been a temporary glitch then. I ran it several times to tweak the costs, so I know what I saw!   Only difference is that now I ran it in version 2.43.1h instead.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2008, 03:34:11 AM by Testlund »
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Possible movement cost bug. RESOLVED (NO REPRO)
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2008, 10:45:04 AM »
I havn't changed anything in this area that I know of in recent versions, but you never know...

If you see it again, just re-open the bug...  thanks.
Many beers....