Author Topic: Don't understand the DNA  (Read 4115 times)

Offline Blowfishy

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Don't understand the DNA
« on: November 19, 2007, 03:46:08 PM »
Hi,

I'm new to DB and I'm trying to understand Animalis Minimalis' DNA so that I can create a simple bot myself. The problem is, I don't understand anything of it. Can someone help me with the DNA explanation, I think the wiki explains it a bit vague.

I understand the meaning of genes. But I dont understand this:

' Gene 1 Food Finder
cond
 *.eye5 0 >
 *.refeye *.myeye !=
start
 *.refveldx .dx store
 *.refvelup 30 add .up store
stop

What does *.eye5 0 > mean, and what does the .refeye and refveldx and refvelup mean??? That's the part I dont understand..

Any help is appreciated,

Blowfishy
« Last Edit: November 19, 2007, 03:54:15 PM by Blowfishy »

Offline shvarz

• Bot God
    • View Profile
Don't understand the DNA
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2007, 05:00:10 PM »
Welcome to the board!
I'm not DB code guru, but I can tell you what *.eye5 0 > means - it merely asks whether eye 5 sees anything at all.  

All variable that start with "ref" allow the bot to gather information on another bot - the one that sits in front of it. So that if there is a bot in front of your bot, then  *.refeye tells you how many eye commands that bot has in its genome. Bots can use it to identify their own species (they would have exactly the same number of eye commands).  

Hope this helps.  Are you sure you found the right tutorial? The one I read in my time was very helpful and explained all these things.
"Never underestimate the power of stupid things in big numbers" - Serious Sam

Offline EricL

• Administrator
  • Bot God
    • View Profile
Don't understand the DNA
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2007, 09:01:39 PM »
Hi Blowfishy.  Welcome.

The DNA uses RPN - Reverse Polish Notation.  Might want to look this up if your not familiar with this kind of thing.   So

*.eye5 0 >

is really just a way of saying