Author Topic: Tieports and multiple ties RESOLVED 2.43r  (Read 3064 times)

Offline EricL

• Administrator
  • Bot God
    • View Profile
Tieports and multiple ties RESOLVED 2.43r
« on: November 13, 2007, 12:06:07 PM »
I'm no tie expert, but I'm in the code now and there are some fuzzy areas I'm trying to address.  Here's what I'm doing for tieports and multiple ties.  Please comment if you like.

So, two or more ties can have the same tie port.

Lets say my code does:

.tie inc

and creates three ties to three different bots over the course of several cycles.

I will have three ties each with a tieport of 1.

.tiepres will be 1.

.numties will be 3.  .numties will always reflect the number of ties I have, whether I created them or not.

.tielen and .tieang will reflect the length and angle of the last tie created or connected.  If the last tie of the three gets deleted, .tielen and .tieang will change to reflect the length and angle of the second tie created.  Same with trefvars.  Same with .tieloc and .tieval and any tie related sysvar that only operates on a single bot on the end of a specific tie.

On the otherhand, sysvars which act on ties themselves such as .fixlen and .fixang will be applied to all ties with the tieport specified in .tienum (or .tiepres if .tienum is 0).  Thus, I can set the length and angle of all three ties I created in one cycle (once they harden) if I so choose without using .tieang1, .tielen1, .tieang2, .tielen2, etc.