Author Topic: Bugs in 2.42.4  (Read 1629 times)

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
Bugs in 2.42.4
« on: May 10, 2006, 02:35:48 PM »
DB ver 2.42.4

Run-time error '91'
Object variable or With block variable not set

~~~
no error.sim written so I assume it is commented out in the compiled version.
will recompile from the source and run again.

I did have it set to auto save best robot every 5 min ...
and I see it did two ... the first one 5KB and the 2nd 215KB!!!

I have no idea how to read those .dbo files ...
but looking at the small one with notepad ...
I find data saved for james_4 with two mutations.

looking at the 215KB file in notepad I find data saved for james_4.txt,
with 7 mutations ... 37 times ...
and Alga_Minimalis.txt 4 times.
have attached it zipped to this post ... contains X2.dbo

I ran this sim before without using auto save, playing with age costs and
settings many times and over many cycles without an error so .... ?????

will recompile with the error.sim thing in place and let 'er run with autosave
for the bots again and see if it will repeat.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2006, 02:37:00 PM by Griz »
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Bugs in 2.42.4
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2006, 09:09:20 AM »
That kind of error will not elicit the automatic save of an error.sim file.

It looks as if the program called a routine in which there is a syntax error. I get this kind of thing when running from code but the compiler should have caught this before Eric put the program up on the site.

very strange  
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
Bugs in 2.42.4
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2006, 09:24:01 AM »
ok.
haven't been able to duplicate it so far.
did you take a look at that dbo file?
is that what it should be for autosaving 'best bot'?
and ...
how does one read/use these dbo files?
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Bugs in 2.42.4
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2006, 09:31:44 AM »
I have my doubts that the program really saves the best bot. It whouldn't surprise me if it just choses a bot at random. The same goes for finding the best bot in the program. I bet it's just a hoax.  

What is considered the best bot? Is it how many offspring it has produced, maybe?
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
Bugs in 2.42.4
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2006, 09:49:22 AM »
Quote
What is considered the best bot? Is it how many offspring it has produced, maybe?
somewhere ...
I talked with Nums about King Bot and how it is selected ...
wanting to set up a way for the user to define the criteria.
I have searched using "king bot'  here but haven't been able to
locate the thread/posts.  there were many such posts as I recall.
????????
will continue to try to find them ...
as this is something I really would like to see incorporated ...
a User Defined/Weighted criteria ...
ie ... age, # of offspring, # of mutations, # of kills ... weighted ...
or whatever the user deems 'important' in determining what
a 'viable' bot should be.

I have zero time right now ...
you might try searching the forum with:
InvstedEnergy, King, .... ???

will see if I saved the spiels somewhere if I find time ...
as I really would like to see some sort of User Interface here.
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7718
    • View Profile
Bugs in 2.42.4
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2006, 10:47:50 AM »
dbo files are Darwin Bots Organism files.  They save the actual bot instead of just its DNA.  They can be inserted into a sim through the edit->insert organism command.

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
Bugs in 2.42.4
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2006, 12:09:39 PM »
Quote from: Numsgil
dbo files are Darwin Bots Organism files.  They save the actual bot instead of just its DNA.  They can be inserted into a sim through the edit->insert organism command.
so too see what they are  ...
one has to first insert them into a sim ...
then view robot info ...
and from there copy the bot dna if it looks
to be something one want's to save?

wasn't there a way to view saved bots using Excel Snapshot?
or it that for viewing just the snapshot of all bots saved in a sim?
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Bugs in 2.42.4
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2006, 01:11:10 PM »
The second option I'm afraid

The excel utility can load either a snapshot file (not a saved sim) or a complete robot DNA file. It can't do anything with a .dbo
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D