Author Topic: My longest sim ever!  (Read 2156 times)

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
My longest sim ever!
« on: March 25, 2006, 07:13:34 AM »
I know you guys have managed to run much longer sims, don't know how you've done it considering how bad this program has worked earlier, but this is the longest sim I've run so far without it crashing. The picture shows the sim at 299999 cycles. The interesting thing is I started with the bots showing on the graph, but only Fisannis managed to survive, though very close to extinction. It seems to be a very sensitive balance. From the beginning they were just flying about shooting. Now they take it easy, like they are thinking about what they do. Looks like they are conserving their energy. They don't move much, but on occasion they strike out and do a little hunting. They might shoot another bot or veggie to get a little energy, but mostly it looks like they are only studying what they see. lol

The sim is Field size 4, 32000x24000.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2006, 07:19:22 AM »
Here is a close up.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2006, 07:21:48 AM »
Congratulations then.  Glad the program is working like you want it to.

What sort of mutations are you getting?

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2006, 08:26:07 AM »
Well, the best bot right now displays these mutations, at 314600 cycles.

It's totally greek for me but maybe you can tell me something that explains their behavior.

Oh, and I'm using the default mutation settings, 5000.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2006, 08:29:15 AM by Testlund »
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2006, 08:48:05 AM »
Just one more screenshot. :)

The picture displays a pink Fisannis that seems to keep watch over a veggie. It shot it once and recieved a little energy and then it was just watching it. When the veggie moved away the bot turned to face it again just when the veggie had gone out of the bots vision radius, and followed it a little. It seems like the bot is pondering the situation, trying to deside if it's going to feed or not.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2006, 08:50:30 AM by Testlund »
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2006, 09:18:52 AM »
Quote
Well, the best bot right now displays these mutations, at 314600 cycles.
It's totally greek for me but maybe you can tell me something that explains their behavior.
if you click on 'robot info' and 'save bot dna ...
you will have it all in a txt file, named whatever you want to name it.
then you can upload it here ...
and we can put it in a sim and watch it too. ;)
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2006, 11:12:46 AM »
I can't save a bots DNA from the program. If I do that the program will add a corrupt code at the end of the textfile so the bot can't be loaded. This line gets added to the bots DNA:

'#hash: &Uf0Sf\1^9<C,9!vq-mM

Instead I have to copy the bots DNA and paste it in a textfile. Then it works.

Here's the bot:  B)
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2006, 12:15:39 PM »
Quote
I can't save a bots DNA from the program. If I do that the program will add a corrupt code at the end of the textfile so the bot can't be loaded. This line gets added to the bots DNA:

'#hash: &Uf0Sf\1^9<C,9!vq-mM

Instead I have to copy the bots DNA and paste it in a textfile. Then it works.
hmmmmm ....
sure enough, I tried it in 2.41 and 2.4.A ...
saving a bot's DNA, and then trying to load it into species.
funny I never noticed that before ...
but then I have mostly been using 2.37.6 so perhaps this has
been a problem all along in 2.4x ...
anyone else?

shall we add this to 2.4x bug reports?

ok, got your attatched bot.
thanks
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline Elite

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 532
    • View Profile
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2006, 12:18:22 PM »
Testlund, your bot's first gene seems to be missing a 'start'  :blink:

Code: [Select]
cond
 *.eye1 0 =
 *.eye2 0 =
 *.eye3 0 =
 *.eye4 0 =
 *.eye5 0 =
 *.eye6 0 =
 *.eye7 0 =
 *.eye8 0 =
 *.eye9 0 =
 4 .aimleft store
 2 .up store
 stop

shouldn't it be:

Code: [Select]
cond
 *.eye1 0 =
 *.eye2 0 =
 *.eye3 0 =
 *.eye4 0 =
 *.eye5 0 =
 *.eye6 0 =
 *.eye7 0 =
 *.eye8 0 =
 *.eye9 0 =
 start
 4 .aimleft store
 2 .up store
 stop

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2006, 01:01:11 PM »
Yes, you're right. I don't know the importance of this as I don't know what the genes do yet, but if a bot can mutate then it whould be possible to write anything in there. There is a start command before the gene, but next time a start command appear isn't until gene 44. Maybe somebody who understands genes can tell what this might cause for behavior. All I can say is that I have never had a more stable population.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
My longest sim ever!
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2006, 03:22:13 PM »
the hash line after a robot DNA is a way for the program to verify that the robot DNA really is what it claims to be, ie: mutated a certain amount, and a certain number of generations old.

If it some how is "corrupting" the DNA, then that's a bug and needs to be addressed.