Author Topic: Tie with nothing on the other end  (Read 4258 times)

Offline Martian

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Tie with nothing on the other end
« on: May 07, 2007, 01:01:03 PM »
I was evolving a Zerobot when I noticed that the robots form ties with nothing on the other end. Also their circle  with eyes in behaves weirdly.



I'm running windows XP home with service pack 2 and 1 gig RAM.

Offline Jez

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 788
    • View Profile
Tie with nothing on the other end
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2007, 05:34:25 PM »
Do you still have the sim to hand? Can you post a save or screenshot of it?
If you try and take a cat apart to see how it works, the first thing you have in your hands is a non-working cat.
Douglas Adams

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Tie with nothing on the other end
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2007, 05:42:56 PM »
It might be things like their movement vectors.  Try disabling them by going to view-> and unchecking anything that's checked.

Offline abyaly

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 363
    • View Profile
Tie with nothing on the other end
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2007, 09:20:06 AM »
Have you tried zooming in on the other end of the tie? It might be a flyspeck bot.
Lancre operated on the feudal system, which was to say, everyone feuded all
the time and handed on the fight to their descendants.
        -- (Terry Pratchett, Carpe Jugulum)

Offline Martian

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Tie with nothing on the other end
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2007, 12:40:16 PM »
I tried zooming in and there was still nothing. I haven't got a sim but reproduced the bug in the attached sim. There is also a screenshot. Disabling movent vectors in view removes is it. Is it a feature I don't know about?

[attachment=592:attachment]

The same goes for the eyes bug. The bug with the eyes is in the same sim and here is a screenshot. View - Show vision grid removes it.

[attachment=593:attachment]
« Last Edit: May 10, 2007, 12:53:23 PM by Martian »

Offline Jez

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 788
    • View Profile
Tie with nothing on the other end
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2007, 01:20:55 PM »
I can answer the eye one easily enough, I've run into that before messing about with changing the eye direction, width and focus. What it is showing is lots of overlapping eyes, still only nine but they are pointing all over the place! It is possible to change the view distance using focus I think.

I can't tell from the bug jpg whats happened but I'll see if I can locate the problem in the sim. Thanks for posting those attachments.
If you try and take a cat apart to see how it works, the first thing you have in your hands is a non-working cat.
Douglas Adams

Offline abyaly

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 363
    • View Profile
Tie with nothing on the other end
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2007, 01:30:57 PM »
it looks like a movement vector to me instead of a tie.
When bots store large values in movement locations (.up .dn .dx .sx) it shows a line showing the direction they are accelerating. The larger the value, the longer the line.
Lancre operated on the feudal system, which was to say, everyone feuded all
the time and handed on the fight to their descendants.
        -- (Terry Pratchett, Carpe Jugulum)

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Tie with nothing on the other end
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2007, 09:15:27 PM »
The line looks like a tie, which is a problem.  A better representation would be an arrow (a line with a hat), but it's just not a pressing concern.

Offline Martian

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Tie with nothing on the other end
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2007, 07:55:51 AM »
That explains it. Thanks for your help.