Darwinbots Forum

Bots and Simulations => Bestiary => Untagged bots => Topic started by: happyhamsterchan on May 13, 2010, 09:19:35 PM

Title: sporebot
Post by: happyhamsterchan on May 13, 2010, 09:19:35 PM
OK, my first bot... It's a. minimalis, but when it reproduces it sends its offspring everywhere kinda like they're spores
Title: sporebot
Post by: Billy on May 14, 2010, 03:58:32 AM
Add this gene at the start and it would work:
[div class=\'codetop\']CODE[div class=\'codemain\' style=\'height:200px;white-space:pre;overflow:auto\']cond
*.robage 0 =
start
.tie inc
stop
This would delete the birth tie and replace it with a regular tie, and your tie deletion gene would sever it then.
Title: sporebot
Post by: happyhamsterchan on May 14, 2010, 12:10:33 PM
I thought my tie deletion gene already works?
Title: sporebot
Post by: Billy on May 14, 2010, 12:39:18 PM
Well, it shouldn't. Deltie doesn't delete birth ties, so you have to replace the birth tie with a regular tie at robage 0. Then you can delete it.
Title: sporebot
Post by: ikke on May 14, 2010, 01:12:43 PM
Quote from: Billy
Well, it shouldn't. Deltie doesn't delete birth ties, so you have to replace the birth tie with a regular tie at robage 0. Then you can delete it.
What makes you say this?
Title: sporebot
Post by: Billy on May 14, 2010, 06:27:45 PM
Quote from: ikke
Quote from: Billy
Well, it shouldn't. Deltie doesn't delete birth ties, so you have to replace the birth tie with a regular tie at robage 0. Then you can delete it.
What makes you say this?
Because that was my understanding of birth tie deletion. If I'm wrong, I'm terribly sorry, and it would be great if you could explain the correct information to me.
Title: sporebot
Post by: ikke on May 15, 2010, 02:02:22 AM
Quote from: Billy
Because that was my understanding of birth tie deletion. If I'm wrong, I'm terribly sorry, and it would be great if you could explain the correct information to me.
My bots don't seem to need it, so in the sim it's not an issue. I'm just curious where you picked it up.
Title: sporebot
Post by: Billy on May 15, 2010, 04:46:43 AM
Quote from: ikke
Quote from: Billy
Because that was my understanding of birth tie deletion. If I'm wrong, I'm terribly sorry, and it would be great if you could explain the correct information to me.
My bots don't seem to need it, so in the sim it's not an issue. I'm just curious where you picked it up.
it's on the wiki in several places. Here (http://www.darwinbots.com/WikiManual/index.php/Inc) for example.
Title: sporebot
Post by: Moonfisher on May 15, 2010, 06:23:44 AM
You only needed to make a new tie in older versions because the birth tie couldn't be accessed. Now .deltie inc will do it since birth ties are always nr 1. (Not sure from what version, but it's a while back)
Also if you never want ties, just do this:

start
.deltie inc
stop

Incrementing and decrementing costs the same as a condition, so it won't be expensive to cut ties every cycle.
Title: sporebot
Post by: Billy on May 15, 2010, 08:03:33 AM
Quote from: Moonfisher
You only needed to make a new tie in older versions because the birth tie couldn't be accessed. Now .deltie inc will do it since birth ties are always nr 1. (Not sure from what version, but it's a while back)
Also if you never want ties, just do this:

start
.deltie inc
stop

Incrementing and decrementing costs the same as a condition, so it won't be expensive to cut ties every cycle.
Okay, thanks. I usually use this for tie preventation:

cond
*.tienum 0 >
start
*.tipres .deltie store
stop

That way, it works whatever the tie number.
I'm a little confuzed about inc/dec. On the wiki it says they cost nothing. Is that out of date too?
Title: Re: sporebot
Post by: Botsareus on May 02, 2014, 01:24:13 PM
Not in correct format. Moving to untagged.