Darwinbots Forum

Bots and Simulations => Bot Tavern => Topic started by: shvarz on September 26, 2005, 02:25:34 PM

Title: Dominator not eating well
Post by: shvarz on September 26, 2005, 02:25:34 PM
Look at this attached sim:  I let the sim run for 30 minutes, then come back and see that they are no longer moving or eating.  What's up?  I tried inserting new bots, but that does not help...
Title: Dominator not eating well
Post by: shvarz on September 26, 2005, 02:50:57 PM
One more thing - now they fight each other!!!
Title: Dominator not eating well
Post by: shvarz on September 26, 2005, 03:06:44 PM
Never mind, I messed something up in their genome.
Title: Dominator not eating well
Post by: Numsgil on September 26, 2005, 03:51:34 PM
:D Glad I could be of help!

I have noticed some weird problems come up with sims that are in the millions of cycles.  If anyone has such a sim, with such oddities discovered, feel free to post them.
Title: Dominator not eating well
Post by: Botsareus on September 26, 2005, 05:11:21 PM
Num I gave up reporting crashes a long time ago, now I just fix them my self. and hope agenst all hope that the robots will stop using dna that crashes the program because If I post an evolved first bot that crashes the program you will have to end up fixing the program and I would end up asking you exactly how you fixed it so I will rewrite my fixes the same way so to accuratly evolve the bot.

(Knowing some of you guys you will probebly come up with fixes that give disadvantage to the robot on purpose...)
Title: Dominator not eating well
Post by: Numsgil on September 26, 2005, 05:24:47 PM
Haha, yeah, like we'd specifically rig the program to favour our bots...   :unsure:

Okay, I've been known to introduce a new feature or two that then totally owns all other bots, but I never introduce things that break older bots.

Anyway, you should report run-time bugs when you run across them.  The idea of open source is that we all share our collective knowledge.  Not that we all design our own programs from a common source.
Title: Dominator not eating well
Post by: Botsareus on September 27, 2005, 03:37:07 PM
too late now , I did not comment my fixes , now I have to unzip the source code to another folder... get windiff... at any rate I do some dougy bug fixes here and there as always so you may not like them anyway.

ah hell, Here is the trouble code from the old virsion with my fixes:

Quote
Private Sub finddist(n As Integer)
  Dim a As Single  'target xpos
  Dim b As Single  'target ypos
  Dim c As Single  'robot's xpos
  Dim d As Single  'robot's ypos
  Dim e As Single  'distance to target
  b = readst(n)
  a = readst(n)
  c = rob(n).x
  d = rob(n).Y
  e = ((c - a) ^ 2 + (d - B) ^ 2) ^ 0.5
  If e > 32000 Then e = 32000
  writest n, Int(e)
End Sub

Quote
Public Sub mutate(n As Integer)
'I admit I did modify the mutations model in several places , here is one example:
 'appears to be broken.  genenum never > 0 Too bad , fixed by BAU
  If Random(1, CountGenes(rob(n).DNA)) = 1 Then

    a = a + SplitRandomPos(rob(n).DNA, (rob(n).mutarray(5)) / SimOpts.MutCurrMult, x)
  End If
'the rest I am not telling yet... and num wrote a new mutation system anyway...
End Sub

Quote
Private Function newvars(n As Integer) As Integer
  Dim a As Integer, t As Integer
  newvars = 0
  If Random(1, Int(rob(n).mutarray(11) / SimOpts.MutCurrMult)) = 1 Then
    newvars = newvars + 1
    Dim uv(1000) As Boolean
    For t = 1 To rob(n).maxusedvars
      If rob(t).usedvars(t) > 0 Then uv(rob(t).usedvars(t)) = True
    Next t
    a = 1
    While uv(a)
      a = Random(1, rob(n).maxusedvars)
      a = rob(n).usedvars(a) + Random(-10, 10)
     If a > 1000 Then a = 1000
      If a < 1 Then a = 1
    Wend
    rob(n).maxusedvars = rob(n).maxusedvars + 1
    rob(n).usedvars(rob(n).maxusedvars) = a
  End If
End Function

Quote
'function is called or near updatepos()
  While t < rp
    If rep(t) > 0 Then
     Dim tmpmem As Long
      tmpmem = CLng(rob(rep(t)).mem(repro)) + CLng(rob(rep(t)).mem(mrepro))
      If tmpmem > 32000 Then tmpmem = 32000
      Reproduce rep(t), CInt(tmpmem)
     rob(rep(t)).mem(repro) = 0
      rob(rep(t)).mem(mrepro) = 0

Quote

thats all for now
Title: Re: Dominator not eating well
Post by: spork22 on June 02, 2014, 12:27:57 AM
Maybe the robots are evolving to eat our computers!  :O
SCARY!!  :(
Heh, just kidding.
Title: Re: Dominator not eating well
Post by: spike43884 on November 02, 2014, 08:16:02 AM
Maybe the robots are evolving to eat our computers!  :O
SCARY!!  :(
Heh, just kidding.
hmm, you gave me a idea spork...
Using comunication on bots to send them into different positions via ties when the HEAD eats a certain bot...WE COULD MAKE A BOT ANIME!