Author Topic: covered up gradient.  (Read 5248 times)

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« on: November 14, 2005, 04:08:13 PM »
Hey Num!. Why did you place a blue rectangle over the gradient light display in the options panel?
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2005, 04:20:58 PM »
It's supposed to be under it.  On some systems lines aren't rectangular, they're beveled.

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2005, 04:26:24 PM »
It completely obscures it on my systems. All I can see is the blue rectangle.

Also, what is the deal with the veggies.cooldown value?

It defaults to zero whenever I start a new sim. Why? because the code in all the routines that initialize a sim, specifically set it to zero.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2005, 04:38:25 PM »
Veggy cooldown definately sounds like a brain fart on my part.  But it seems to work find for me in 2.4 so I dunno...

Right click the blue triangle and "send it bacK" or to back or whatever.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2005, 04:38:51 PM by Numsgil »

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2005, 04:43:40 PM »
But what is it supposed to do?

There is NO CODE that relates to veggie cooldown anywhere in the program.

If you change the value in the box on the options screen, it doesn't place any values in any of the simopts. It appears to be an idea that just never got finished.

As for the blue rectangle, I got rid of it and it works fine again.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Zelos

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 707
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2005, 12:46:26 AM »
how to you make a filled rectangel that is filled in vb?
When I have the eclipse cannon under my control there is nothing that can stop me from ruling the world. And I wont stop there. I will never stop conquering worlds through the universe. All the worlds in the universe will belong to me. All the species in on them will be my slaves. THE ENIRE UNIVERSE WILL BELONG TO ME AND EVERYTHING IN IT :evil: AND THERE IS NOTHING ANYONE OF you CAN DO TO STOP ME. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2005, 08:42:51 AM »
You add a shape object and set its background and/or foreground color
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Zelos

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 707
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2005, 09:37:15 AM »
I mean by commands
When I have the eclipse cannon under my control there is nothing that can stop me from ruling the world. And I wont stop there. I will never stop conquering worlds through the universe. All the worlds in the universe will belong to me. All the species in on them will be my slaves. THE ENIRE UNIVERSE WILL BELONG TO ME AND EVERYTHING IN IT :evil: AND THERE IS NOTHING ANYONE OF you CAN DO TO STOP ME. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2005, 10:01:43 AM »
Never tried to do it that way. I don't think there is a generic fill command in the code.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Ulciscor

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2005, 10:07:08 AM »
It took me so long to find this out. So long being 3 hours.I'm slightly protective over what seems to be a VB secret but here you go  :lol:

Code: [Select]
Line (x1,y1)-(x2,y2), RGB(X,why,Z), B
That 'B' after the colour parameter makes the line turn into a rectangle somehow; no idea how or why but it does.

Also just in case, make sure you don't add any drawing functions on the onLoad() event 'cos they won't work.

[EDIT]: Curse these filters!  :D
« Last Edit: November 15, 2005, 10:07:38 AM by Ulciscor »
:D Ulciscor :D

I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2005, 10:13:15 AM »
I have to get rid of that why filter. I knew it was a bad idea.  :(
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2005, 10:46:09 AM »
Quote
But what is it supposed to do?

There is NO CODE that relates to veggie cooldown anywhere in the program.

If you change the value in the box on the options screen, it doesn't place any values in any of the simopts. It appears to be an idea that just never got finished.

As for the blue rectangle, I got rid of it and it works fine again.
Hmm....  Maybe I just never finished it for 2.37.  Basically it's a timer that prevents veggys from being repopulated every cycle.  Set it to 1000 and it takes 1000 cycles between repopulation events.

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2005, 11:28:56 AM »
I managed to find something about it in the veggie repopulate routines while working on them earlier.

I think it is functional though I can't imagine why the value was hard-coded to zero in all the startup routines.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
covered up gradient.
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2005, 11:33:10 AM »
I can't remember to be honest.

Maybe something to do with backwards compatibility, so it sets a default value if it's 0 or something...