Author Topic: Let's make a stable platform  (Read 9960 times)

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Let's make a stable platform
« on: October 25, 2005, 09:56:22 AM »
OK Guys. I think it will probably be best to go with the slightly newer 2.37.4 as a start point.

You can download the source from Here if you don't already have it.

Just run it directly through the VB interpretter and make it crash.

Either try to figure out how to fix the error yourself or report it to me with as much detail as you can manage.

I will colate all changes and fixes then periodically release a fixed version.

There will be no additional stuff added until we have a 100% stable platform

Good luck peeps  :D
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2005, 10:28:13 AM »
thank you :pray:

"always drink upstream from the herd"
« Last Edit: October 25, 2005, 10:30:54 AM by Griz »
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline shvarz

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1341
    • View Profile
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2005, 11:14:36 AM »
Will do!
"Never underestimate the power of stupid things in big numbers" - Serious Sam

Offline MrMound

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2005, 02:32:31 PM »
yaaa! my suggestion worked! :cheers:
cooperation is working together to achive a common goal
mrmound

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2005, 03:01:29 PM »
I assume that when you talk about VB you mean VB6, as it's named on the ftp, wich means Visual Studio. Following the instructions in the readme file how to install will cause the installer to search for files in a folder that doesn't exist. The folder's name is 'COMMON'. Therefor you can't install it.  :angry:
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2005, 03:07:18 PM »
Just ignore all that stuff and install the main program.

Most of the things it can't find are the help files which unfortunately the freebee version doesn't have.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2005, 03:25:29 PM »
Did that. Only chosed the Visual Basic core files. Still trying to access that nonexisting folder 'COMMON'.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2005, 04:04:48 PM »
Can't you just tell it to ignore that?
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2005, 04:12:02 PM »
Ok, I managed to run VB6 WITHOUT installing it. Just went into the folder VB98 and dubbelclick VB6.EXE.

Testing version 2.37.4

Draw boxes on the species tab are a little messed up and doesn't stay put when clicking another tab or on another bot in the list.

To use the save function on the recording tab one must set the same number on both fields wich will cause the program to save both sim and best bot at the same time. The meaning is that you are supposed to chose different numbers for the upper and lower field, right?

Ran the program in fast mode (both speed arrows pressed down) and clicked on 'Start New Simulation' icon to make some settings, wich caused a crash: Run-time error 13, I think. Chosing debug marked the following code:
    MutLab.Caption = (TmpOpts.MutCurrMult) + " X"
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7709
    • View Profile
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2005, 04:29:02 PM »
Many, many people have issues with the VB6 on the FTP.  Some don't.  I have no idea why.  If anyone ever figures it out...

Be sure you're running setup.exe, and not acmboot or soemthing like that.  Sort of obvious, so I doubt that's it.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #10 on: October 25, 2005, 04:32:47 PM »
At least I can run it. So you mean when you installed VB it didn't ask for the nonexisting 'COMMON' folder, Numsgil?
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7709
    • View Profile
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #11 on: October 25, 2005, 04:35:36 PM »
Nope, it ran just fine on mine.  That's the VB6 version I use actually.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #12 on: October 25, 2005, 04:42:36 PM »
That's wicked!

Ok, I found out that the problem that causes run-time error 13 is that it can't load a setting wich I have saved, only the other settings.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7709
    • View Profile
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #13 on: October 25, 2005, 04:46:18 PM »
Did you save the settings file by hand or through the program?

Maybe you have an extra space somewhere or something like that.  The save/load routines are not all that robust (as you may have guessed).  They sort of blithely expect  everything to go perfectly.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Let's make a stable platform
« Reply #14 on: October 25, 2005, 04:48:33 PM »
I just found out it doesn't matter if I have saved any settings or not. It crashes the same allmost everytime I try to access the GUI when a simulation is running.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine