Author Topic: help....again  (Read 17692 times)

Offline MrMound

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #30 on: October 09, 2005, 07:44:31 PM »
still doesn't work
cooperation is working together to achive a common goal
mrmound

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #31 on: October 09, 2005, 08:55:25 PM »
it's .fixpos, not .fixpose

Offline MrMound

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #32 on: October 09, 2005, 11:44:16 PM »
heres the gene thats not working
Code: [Select]
cond
*.numtie 0 >
start
0 .fixpos store
stop
I want this gene to tell my bot to stop when it ties on to food.  I also want this gene to make any other bots tied onto me to stay still wile they are (bots of my own species).
heres the bot if you want to look at the whole thing to see if its something else thats making that bot not work.
cooperation is working together to achive a common goal
mrmound

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #33 on: October 10, 2005, 12:28:24 AM »
0 .fixpos store unfixes your position.

1 (in fact, I think any non zero value) .fixpos store fixes your position.

That should resolve it.

Bot's looking good.

Offline Light

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #34 on: October 10, 2005, 04:51:41 AM »
Also its *.numties not *.numtie

Offline Light

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #35 on: October 10, 2005, 06:41:13 AM »
Code: [Select]
cond
*.multi = 1
start
99% sharenrg
1% sharewaste
stop

this gene shoud be

Code: [Select]
cond
  *.multi 1 =
start
  99 .sharenrg store
  1 .sharewaste store
stop

Code: [Select]
cond
 *.eye5
 0
 >
 *refaimdex
 1
 =
start
  1 .tie
stop

and this should be

Code: [Select]
cond
  *.eye5 0 >
  *.refaimdx 1 =
start
  1 .tie
stop

Offline Welwordion

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 325
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #36 on: October 10, 2005, 07:07:08 AM »
I thought he wanted to unfix it ^^, ahh well my bad.

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #37 on: October 10, 2005, 09:29:06 AM »
Quote
how do you unfix your self
and why wont this gene work then
Code: [Select]
cond
*.numtie >= 1
start
1 .fixpose store
stop
Because there are no such commands as fixpose or numtie.

Try fixpos and numties.



Does anyone these days know how to use the robot data panel these days?  <_<

Just double click your bot and click the "show DNA" tab.

Compare your DNA to the text file for differences. If anything shows up as a zero in the DNA panel then it is spelled wrong.

If a whole gene is screwed up then its most likely a missed out cond, start or stop.

These are your basic debugging tools.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2005, 09:33:49 AM by PurpleYouko »
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #38 on: October 10, 2005, 12:51:27 PM »
Someone (else) should start on a IDE for bot programming.  Something that would color in the appropriate words as you type, and you could "compile" the code (basically check for missing stops/misspells/etc.)

Offline MrMound

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #39 on: October 10, 2005, 08:27:27 PM »
that would help me out a lot if someone made one of those.
cooperation is working together to achive a common goal
mrmound

Offline MrMound

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #40 on: October 10, 2005, 08:50:20 PM »
I want my bots to move to the coridinates (0,0) how can I do this.  I know you can see if your bot is at a x or y pos but can you tell it to go to a specific one or does it have to move randomly about untill it gets to the right coordinates?
cooperation is working together to achive a common goal
mrmound

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #41 on: October 11, 2005, 10:38:24 AM »
You need to do an "angle" to get it.

Somthing like

0 .myx sub 0 .myy sub angle .myaim sub .aimdx store

I beat I got the syntax wrong.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2005, 10:54:39 AM by Botsareus »

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #42 on: October 11, 2005, 10:49:07 AM »
WAY overcomplicated. Heading for a specific position with know X and Y coordinates is really simple.

It's as simple as this..

Xcoordinate Ycoordinate angle .setaim store

The program already knows your present coordinates so all you need is the destination.

PS it's "angle" not "angel"

Angels look like this  :bigginangel:
« Last Edit: October 11, 2005, 10:50:07 AM by PurpleYouko »
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline MrMound

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #43 on: October 11, 2005, 02:28:31 PM »
so the gene would look like this
Code: [Select]
cond
start
Xcoordinate Ycoordinate angle .setaim store
stop
cooperation is working together to achive a common goal
mrmound

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
help....again
« Reply #44 on: October 11, 2005, 02:29:44 PM »
yep, that'd get you pointed in the right direction.

You might want to add a condition to that so it only activates when you want it (otherwise you're always pointed towards (xcoord, y coord)