Author Topic: Bug in 2.37.4  (Read 4632 times)

Offline Old Henk

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Bug in 2.37.4
« on: September 04, 2005, 11:45:13 AM »
When I try to create a 'custom' colour for a bot, everything is fine. But when I try to remove the 'custom colour' pop-up (the one with the RGB sliders), the program freezes and I have to terminate it via CTRL-ALT-DELETE

Not major, but annoying.

Henk  :)

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2005, 10:22:14 PM »
I'll probably look into these sorts of menu bugs/features when I get internet up in my new place.  Otherwise, I'll never remember by the time I get home.

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2005, 02:41:49 PM »
After extensive testing I cannot reproduce this reported bug.

The color selection works absolutely perfectly, no matter what I do to it.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2005, 02:49:51 PM »
I've seen this happen myself.  I think it happens if you hit the x to close it instead of committing the changes.

or soemthing...

anyway it definately exists.

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2005, 02:51:13 PM »
Tried that too. Tried everything and IT JUST WON"T FAIL!!!
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2005, 02:52:21 PM »
In fact it has NEVER failed on either of my computers.

If anyone knows how to provoke this then please post exact steps to cause it. Maybe I'm just not doing it right (wrong that is)
« Last Edit: October 27, 2005, 02:52:46 PM by PurpleYouko »
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2005, 02:54:31 PM »
I had it happen when I was playing with Light's install on the webspace (you have to access it via FTP, it's not listed).

He had a really sweet color selected for Animal Minimalis 2.4.  I loaded up the custom color, may or amy not have played with the sliders, then hit the x to close it, and my whole program died (either froze or crashed, I forget which).

Anyway, you might try dling his install and seeing if you can reproduce it that way.

Offline Ulciscor

  • Moderator
  • Bot Destroyer
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
    • http://spaces.msn.com/members/shadowedjustice
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2005, 03:11:05 PM »
Yep just tried. Changing the sliders then clicking [x] cuases it to hang, no error produced, just non-responsiveness. A bug I'd say.
:D Ulciscor :D

I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2005, 03:16:09 PM »
Light's install? or the regular code that I gave the link to at the start of this project?

I can't fix this unless I can make it happen.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Ulciscor

  • Moderator
  • Bot Destroyer
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
    • http://spaces.msn.com/members/shadowedjustice
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2005, 03:24:59 PM »
Regular code I just downloaded:

Start a new sim
Add a bot
Goto custom colour
Clise the top slider along a bit
Click [x]
Voila!

 :D
:D Ulciscor :D

I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2005, 03:25:01 PM »
Light uploaded his entire DB directory to the webspace when he got a bug I couldn't figure out.  I think it's still there.  It's under the directroy "Light".

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/objack2
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2005, 06:13:44 PM »
I use that custom color thing all of the time ...
never had it fail or hang.  ver2.37.4
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline Ulciscor

  • Moderator
  • Bot Destroyer
  • *****
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
    • http://spaces.msn.com/members/shadowedjustice
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2005, 06:33:28 PM »
Whether or not anyone else can replicate this error is irrelevant; more than one person has noticed a problem and that makes it a bug.  :D

Bugs are awesome! You can just see Db getting better every time we find one.
:D Ulciscor :D

I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2005, 07:19:06 PM »
Way to look on the positive side ;)

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Bug in 2.37.4
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2005, 02:15:59 PM »
Now we just have to isolate the cause. I still can't make it happen
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D