Author Topic: Run-time error 6  (Read 1411 times)

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Run-time error 6
« on: July 14, 2014, 04:50:44 PM »
This happened when I was testing mutation oscillation for the first time ever.

I was preparing folders to run multiple instances so it's also possible I might have missed to copy over some important file. The zip contains all the files I thought I needed to just run an internal sim. Edit: It has nothing to do with that.

No need to have Internet Mode files if I'm not going to run in Internet Mode, right?

I made the zip directly after running in Safe Mode.

Oh, and I was also trying to run a script that would make DB pause whenever a bot gets a .repro gene. Haven't tried running such scripts before.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2014, 05:09:16 PM by Testlund »
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2014, 05:31:44 PM »
it's due to the mutation oscillation settings. it doesn't work for some reason and crashes at about 32700 cycles every time i've run it.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2014, 05:34:52 PM »
OK, that's unfortunate. It would be cool if it worked.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2014, 05:44:53 PM »
i tried getting bots on it

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2014, 04:47:15 AM »
Actually, it DOES work if you don't exceed the number 16000.
"God is an ever receding pocket of scientific ignorence." - Neil DeGrasse Tyson

"God is a kid with an ant farm" - Constantine

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2014, 12:15:23 PM »
Yea, this thing still lives! apparently. I thought I took care of that one. Back to the drawing toolz.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2014, 01:01:52 PM »
Oh, looky here. Testlund got me an autosave that actually crashes! Good Job!
There is no specific description on the mod operater that it does not handle anything greater then an unsigned integer, proof:

Quote
Used to divide two numbers and return only the remainder.

Syntax

result = number1 Mod number2

The Mod operator syntax has these parts:

Part Description
result Required; any numericvariable.
number1 Required; anynumeric expression.
number2 Required; any numeric expression.


Remarks

The modulus, or remainder, operator divides number1 by number2 (rounding floating-point numbers to integers) and returns only the remainder as result. For example, in the followingexpression, A (result) equals 5.

A = 19 Mod 6.7

Usually, thedata type of result is aByte, Byte variant,Integer, Integer variant,Long, orVariant containing a Long, regardless of whether or not result is a whole number. Any fractional portion is truncated. However, if any expression isNull, result is Null. Any expression that isEmpty is treated as 0.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2014, 01:04:06 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2014, 01:14:09 PM »
It is a long, damn.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2014, 01:32:21 PM »
My result is an integer, that was stupid. Here we go, this should work:



Once again, robots I can debug, people entering retarded numbers I can not. I can not be expected to put floor and ceil on every damn text box can I?

New project for Shadowgod: I want you do go trough ALL the textboxs you can find in Darwinbots and check if you can crash Darwinbots by putting goofy values in teh textboxes.

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2014, 01:38:01 PM »
oh boy, this will be fun. i'll start tonight, 2 sims at a time.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2014, 01:40:32 PM »
I seriously hope that was sarcasm, otherwise my view on the whole planet will be complete.

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2014, 02:35:43 PM »
which part the fun or the i'll start tonight.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2014, 02:43:56 PM »
Ok fine you win:

Evolution is a blow, and the only way to stimulate anything intelligent is to use a neural network!

Happy now?

edit:

Breaking news: Botsareus quits DB because he can not handle the administrative work!

That should make several people happy imo, eh?

edit:

I love when people only add fual to the fire instead of letting things go, the only thing left in life worth really working toward.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2014, 02:46:51 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2014, 02:53:52 PM »
Wow, nice. This people forced me to actually follow the logic of what my picy and signature under picy supposed to mean. Usually, at least what I thought about Numsgil's picy you are supposed to act the opposite of what your picy and signature under picy supposed to mean.

Awesome job! I like a good kick in the ass!

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Run-time error 6
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2014, 04:10:41 PM »
Don't you think your over reacting a bit. I was just messing with you and yes I was being sarcastic in the one post.