Author Topic: Weird teleporter problem.  (Read 14720 times)

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #15 on: February 02, 2014, 02:22:55 PM »
I was just going to upload a zip here where I caught this error in Safe Mode. Whenever I try to restart DB after that I keep getting "Invalid procedure call or argument". I'll try this drop first and see if it solves anything.
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #16 on: February 02, 2014, 02:49:39 PM »
I'm afraid this drop didn't work. It gave me this:
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #17 on: February 02, 2014, 02:53:02 PM »
Here is the zip file. I decided to zip the whole DB folder. I know that's not what you want but I'm thinking the folder structure is important to see how this problem relates to the teleporters. Just double-click the DB exe file in the "Instance A" folder and you should get an "Invalid procedure call or argument".

The picture shows the error when it occured in Instance A.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2014, 02:54:42 PM by Testlund »
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #18 on: February 02, 2014, 04:26:51 PM »
I will have to revert them changes then. But not today. I am going to go watch the super ball.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #19 on: February 02, 2014, 04:51:40 PM »
Ahm, Testlund Ignore most of your PMs on this topic. ' File already open' is a very ambiguous error message. Here is what it actually means:

Code: [Select]
Open "C:\Users\Owner\Desktop\ok.snp" For Output As #1
Open "C:\Users\Owner\Desktop\yo.txt" For Output As #1 'This is the only way apparently to cause "file already open"
Close #1
Close #1

This basically means I am using the same file number for more then one file (as I thought) What I do not know is why my current mod was a complete fail or even if it has to do with the seeding system I started development on.

It is a good thing that you gave me the whole damn DB folder, it gives me things to work with.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #20 on: February 04, 2014, 01:18:39 PM »
Ok,

1.) The new tag component I added brakes reverse compatibility, I totally forgot to check for a continue code, lol.
2.) I had to move the saving loading label termination code so it encapsulates the whole routine.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2014, 01:20:33 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #21 on: February 04, 2014, 01:44:46 PM »
Here it is, apparently the test first philosophy has not helped my sloppiness much, If you see any more problems I'll set up a long term and try to catch it. I have your DB directory I can base my experiment off that.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #22 on: February 05, 2014, 07:10:48 AM »
OK, I will put this to the test. I'll let you know later.  :)
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #23 on: February 05, 2014, 07:36:38 AM »
20 minutes later...  :P

You should be able to reproduce this by just loading "A.sim" and "B.sim" and wait until a bot enters a red teleporter.
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #24 on: February 05, 2014, 02:44:34 PM »
That is a different error then you had before, I am on the right track.  :P
Spent the day cleaning up the league engine, more Friday.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #25 on: February 07, 2014, 12:47:56 PM »
Once I figured out that you can only use file numbers in the range of 1 trough 511 (how quaint) I got the save organism code to work.
Now I only need to figure out why load organism still does not work.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #26 on: February 07, 2014, 01:08:57 PM »
Testlund, I have faith in this drop  :D
Don't mind that the option tabs open up weird, I will reset them later.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #27 on: February 07, 2014, 02:21:16 PM »
This looks like it might be the real deal; the fix that will take DB to it's alpha state, after 10 years of development. The bots goes through the teleporters as they should.

I'll run this sim through the weekend. Then I'll start a new sim and see how that works. So far this teleporter problem has been very random, so it might take a few tests to be sure.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 02:36:30 PM by Testlund »
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #28 on: February 10, 2014, 11:03:04 AM »
The problem is still there. Have you tried to run these sims with all the mutation features enabled? The ones you got from me had these features disabled. I still think this has something to do with the likelyhood of this bug to manifest itself.
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Weird teleporter problem.
« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2014, 11:50:50 AM »
So if I understand this right there were two things that caused problems with the teleporters. The one that I think you fixed with version Darwin2.46.02BetaH that involved file names/access.

The other seem to involve what's being written into the bot files. It looks now like it's the "Epigenetic Reset" and "Normalize default mutation rates..." on the Mutations tab in "Global Settings" that makes the teleporters unable to teleport. The bots just goes in and disappears.
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.