Author Topic: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?  (Read 1849 times)

Offline rwill128

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« on: December 23, 2013, 01:11:47 PM »
I have two decent sized sims running (about 900 sex-repro animal minimalis) and about 800 veg each. They're going great at almost 30 fps. But when I tried to connect them with Internet Mode I immediately get an overflow error.

Offline rwill128

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2013, 07:00:25 PM »
It's the same error TestLund seems to be getting, actually. Error 6.

Here's a screen cap of my sims, though. They're doing awesome and I want to connect them! Hopefully we can get this fixed after the holidays?

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2013, 12:29:07 AM »
internet mode hasn't worked in a very long time as far as i know. you can still connect the 2 sims if they are on the same computer using teleporters.

add 2 teleporters 1 inbound 1 outbound
on the outbound teleporter type in the path to store the bots
the inbound teleporter type in the path the take bots from
do the same exact thing to the other sim/s but the in and outbound path should be flipped.

hope thins helps a bit

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2013, 12:02:44 PM »
Shadow,

I don't think the LocalIM itself is broken, I just think there is some kind of strange error when uploading and downloading organisms files or something.
Having said that I do need the exact settings files to recreate it on my old beat up vaio.

Ricky,

As I understand you are running each instance as a copy from your documents folder.
You got:
 2 - 2.46
 2 - 2.46 - Copy
etc.

These is an actual separate Darwin2.46 exe in each folder right?



All I was trying to say really, I need the settings file to help diagnose further.
You guys are doing fine...
« Last Edit: December 25, 2013, 08:58:56 AM by Botsareus »

Offline Shadowgod2

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #4 on: December 25, 2013, 01:13:53 AM »
sorry for trying to help :glare:

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2013, 08:54:43 AM »
Ah a little too much attitude from me here. You are right shadow, my bad. My intent was not to shut you up. I am just trying to figure out what is really going on here. One possible cause that is related to internet mode (after I slept on it) is the fact that we added Ammehs pipe server. Maybe there is an overflow there somewhere. Just an update. Once again, sorry for me being an ass Shadowgod. Thx.

Offline rwill128

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2013, 11:16:45 AM »
I let all the sims run over the holidays and now I'm back.. They are 25 mgs each. I will see if I can email them to you along with the saved settings files.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7716
    • View Profile
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2013, 11:23:24 AM »
Do they 7zip down at all?  Or is that after compression?

Offline rwill128

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2013, 04:39:07 PM »
That's before compression. I actually emailed the settings files and the sim to Botsareus this morning.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2013, 12:17:33 PM »
I have not looked at my email yet. However, here is a little update that should flush out some of these errors (I hope)

edit: Also this version is simplified vegy code as rwill128 is getting reasonable speeds at high screen resolutions. You can now also limit the 'light avail.' by putting large overlapping shapes on the screen. This makes the whole 'light avail.' system more generic and user based.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2013, 12:19:24 PM by Botsareus »

Offline rwill128

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2013, 02:45:53 PM »
Woot! It appears to be working. I will leave my four divergent evolution sims running tonight in Internet Mode and we'll see which species wins out.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Re: Local Internet Mode Broken in 2.46?
« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2014, 10:39:15 AM »
Found some more bugs showing off the capability of the software to my potential girl friend.
Should have some fixes soon.