Author Topic: Can't stop slime cost!  (Read 4030 times)

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Can't stop slime cost!
« on: November 26, 2013, 02:18:03 PM »
Just start a sim with this bot. Make sure slime cost is set to 0 and watch how slime still cost nrg.

Code: [Select]
'****************
'*  Big Slimer  *
'****************

cond
*.waste 250 > and
*.chlr 250 <
start
16 .mkchlr store
stop

cond
*.nrg 10000 >
start
10 .strbody store
stop

cond
*.slime 2000 <
start
1000 .mkslime store
stop

cond
*.body 16000 >
start
314 rnd .aimdx store
50 .repro store
stop
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2013, 10:47:04 AM »
Ok, so here is what I have discovered (This is new to me too, it was inherited from version 2.45 "If it ain't broke don't fix it")

The first interesting thing is you can make or unmake a max of 100 units of slime per cycle. This means if you are storing more into slime it will be capped at 100 for you.

The second thing I have discovered: (and I might have seen this before but never cared enough to remember in detail)

There is a "fixed" cost for slime on top of the normal costs. It turns out that slime costs 1/10 energy per slime.

Therefore, Your robot is actually producing 100 slime per cycle and gets charged 10 energy points each time.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2013, 12:57:26 PM »
Oh, well... I guess I'll have to figure out a different strategy for slime usage.  :blueblob:
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2013, 01:05:23 PM »
I think of slime like my Karate, it is simply a defensive move. If you need to kick someones ass you are not going to simply hold an upper block for 30 minutes.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2013, 01:15:09 PM »
Yeah, I've figured that out now but I don't know how to set up a condition for the bot to time slime production just before some bot tries to shoot ties or shots against it.

Can you give me an example of dna for that?
« Last Edit: November 27, 2013, 01:17:05 PM by Testlund »
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2013, 01:27:28 PM »
Actually, your 'big slimer' code was pritty good.
I just moded your chloroplast gene:

Code: [Select]
cond
*.chlr *.light <
start
160 .mkchlr store
stop

Make sure slime cost is zero though.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2013, 02:21:39 PM »
I see what you mean.  :) A lot of chloroplasts are needed for constant slime production to work.

What about purely for defence then?

This works against -1 shots:

Code: [Select]
cond
*.shflav -1 =
start
2000 .mkslime store
stop

But what sysvar do I use to tell a bot when it has been hit by a tie?
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2013, 02:59:56 PM »
Good question.
My guess will be read tielen1 trough tielen4 or tieang1 trough 4 and make sure they are zero.
Wait a minute, that will not work well because these values happen only after a tie is formed.

Ok, my best guess. Make sure the robot close to you is friendly. If it is not, there is a good chance it will try to tie to you for harm.



I created this list of relationships a long time ago. My hope is that you may find them useful:

Quote
shell is effective vs -6 and venum
slime is effective vs virus and ties
poison is effective agenst -1
« Last Edit: November 27, 2013, 03:07:41 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2013, 03:52:35 PM »
I tried this but it doesn't work:

Code: [Select]
cond
*.refxpos 0 > and
*.reftie 0 >
start
2000 .mkslime store
stop
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2013, 04:14:46 PM »
hmm... reftie does not seem to work right. I will have to debug further, but not today. We have a natural holiday tomorrow, best time should be Friday.

Good find.  :P

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2013, 04:17:44 PM »
Ok. Happy holiday.  :)
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Re: Can't stop slime cost!
« Reply #11 on: November 29, 2013, 12:25:00 PM »
Someone was counting the *.tie code elements instead of .tie  :wacko:

Here try this: