Author Topic: Seed valus!  (Read 2719 times)

Offline Greven

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Seed valus!
« on: April 26, 2005, 11:26:14 AM »
I have said it before and now I say it again:

Some times I want to re-run a simulation, but it is not possibly in DB! :(

If you guys implement a seed value, it would be piece of cake!

In the options panel a frame with "Seeding Value", were you can enter a number of generated.

The you just have to make following changes:

Code: [Select]
Randomize Timer to
Code: [Select]
Randomize varSeedValue
where varSeedValue is the variable in which the "Seeding Value" is stored from the options panel!

And it will be SOOOOO much easier tracking errors, overflows, bugs etc. and reproduce them!

Thank you for reading! :D

~Greven

(This suggestion is very important!!! If you dont understand or realise it just ask me to be more specific, because my last topic about this, people did seem to have misundersood something)
10010011000001110111110100111011001101100100000110110111000011101011110010110000
011000011000001100010110010111101001110100110010111100101000001000001111001011101
001101001110011011010011100011110100111000011101100100000100110011010011100110110
010110000011100111101001110110111101011101100110000111101001101001110111111011101
01100100000111010011010001100001110111010000010001001000010100001

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Seed valus!
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2005, 11:39:20 AM »
However we still need to be able to use the timer function sometimes as well. There are a whole lot of randomize calls in the program, probably in excess of 50 and maybe even 100. (Can't say I have actually checked how many though)

Each one would have to be replaced with an if-then option or a function call in order to make the sim 100% reproducable.

Could be a useful feature though.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Seed valus!
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2005, 02:08:52 PM »
No, just the Randomize function needs to be modified.  It's a really easy fix, I just haven't gotten around to it.  There's alot of things I haven't gotten around to. There's just too much work for 2 men.

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2554
    • View Profile
    • http://kuro-tejina.com
Seed valus!
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2005, 02:29:10 PM »
Tell me about it.  :(
There are 10 kinds of people in the world

Those who understand binary.

and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Seed valus!
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2005, 05:32:38 PM »
Greven, I have no idea how you are getting the same simulations more then once.  You have to have the program start up the same millisecond every day. Fun...
« Last Edit: April 26, 2005, 05:41:21 PM by Numsgil »

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Seed valus!
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2005, 05:43:28 PM »
No Bots, he's saying he wants that, not that he can get it.

We discussed this before, remember?  Randomize Timer seeds the randomizer (all randomizers work by taking one number, feeding it into a equation, and getting a completely different number, then using that new number to generate a new number, on and on) with the current time, but you don't have to seed with the timer.

You can Randomize 2.  Then you'll get the exact same list of random numbers and hence the exact same simulation every time you run the program.

Offline Greven

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Seed valus!
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2005, 09:54:23 AM »
Are you going to add it???? Please, it would be so wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!

~Greven
10010011000001110111110100111011001101100100000110110111000011101011110010110000
011000011000001100010110010111101001110100110010111100101000001000001111001011101
001101001110011011010011100011110100111000011101100100000100110011010011100110110
010110000011100111101001110110111101011101100110000111101001101001110111111011101
01100100000111010011010001100001110111010000010001001000010100001

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7715
    • View Profile
Seed valus!
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2005, 10:59:29 AM »
It's on the to do list.  Unfortunately school finals are comming up, so it'll be a while before I can start programming again.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
    • DJ Paul Kononov
Seed valus!
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2005, 02:14:40 PM »
DOH,...

yea yea , great idea , add it add it


(Keep the timer optional to so I wont have to do any sendkeys)
« Last Edit: April 28, 2005, 02:15:57 PM by Botsareus »

Offline Greven

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Seed valus!
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2005, 08:44:34 AM »
You should have the option to use the timer, but also to enter a specific seedvalue, and you all know it will be much easier to track the millions of bugs everyone find, but anyone else is unable to reproduce!
10010011000001110111110100111011001101100100000110110111000011101011110010110000
011000011000001100010110010111101001110100110010111100101000001000001111001011101
001101001110011011010011100011110100111000011101100100000100110011010011100110110
010110000011100111101001110110111101011101100110000111101001101001110111111011101
01100100000111010011010001100001110111010000010001001000010100001