Author Topic: INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)  (Read 4050 times)

Offline Ammeh

  • Queen of the Internets
  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« on: May 09, 2010, 02:18:32 PM »
As of 2.45.00 ignore all the stuff below. Hey, that rhymed.
Just download the newest version, and you are good to go. Check out this post for more information.
-Shasta

You must be running Darwin2.44.05.exe and it must be called that for the hack to work properly

DarwinbotsIM.exe

Okay dokey, since DB's current Internet mode is a little buggy, me and Shasta wrote up a fix with the help of the nice people on irc (which you should totally check out btw).

Basically, what you need to do is set up your sim, then go to Objects -> Teleporters -> new teleporter.

Create an inbound and an outbound pointing to C:\dbtransfers\inbound and C:\dbtransfers\outbound respectively (These folders must exist. You can change them to something different if you want, so long as the hack points to the correct folders).

Okay, you should now have two teleporters floating around your sim. Now run the DarwinbotsIM.exe, make sure that the inbound/outbound paths match, set a nickname, and choose the right PID in the selector (it should be filled automatically) and click "Start".

That's it, you should now have relatively glitchless internet mode.

Due to the compression now being used, the Darwinbots normal IM mode no longer works.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2010, 05:55:17 AM by Shasta »

Offline happyhamsterchan

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2010, 09:00:13 PM »
It... it works!!! WOW!!! I ACTUALLY HAVE INTERNET MODE WORKING!!!! OMGFTW!

Thanks sammeh! Now the question is... Does it have a keylogger?
I AM THE...

AWESOME...

FUN...

TURTLE!!!!!

Offline Billy

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2010, 04:52:46 AM »
Quote from: happyhamsterchan
It... it works!!! WOW!!! I ACTUALLY HAVE INTERNET MODE WORKING!!!! OMGFTW!

Thanks sammeh! Now the question is... Does it have a keylogger?
Have you even made any battlebots?
"I cannot persuade myself that a beneficent and omnipotent God would have designedly created parasitic wasps with the express intention of their feeding within the living bodies of Caterpillars."

-Charles Darwin

Offline ashton15

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2010, 11:03:03 AM »
Yup I tried it too, it works everyone, it lets you have more control over the teleporters to, and runs way smother

Offline Houshalter

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 312
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2010, 09:09:52 PM »
I can't get it to work, my antivirus software keeps trying to eat it.

Offline happyhamsterchan

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2010, 10:39:30 PM »
What antivirus you got? or... maybe it DOES have a keylogger!
I AM THE...

AWESOME...

FUN...

TURTLE!!!!!

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7707
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2010, 01:28:20 AM »
Quote from: happyhamsterchan
What antivirus you got? or... maybe it DOES have a keylogger!

I will just say I'm surprised you can type with one hand.

edit: hmm, that's either too subtle or not nearly subtle enough
« Last Edit: May 11, 2010, 01:28:38 AM by Numsgil »

Offline Ammeh

  • Queen of the Internets
  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2010, 03:55:09 AM »
It does not have a keylogger

I'll post source if you want, but it aint pretty.

Offline Billy

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2010, 09:36:53 AM »
It would be better if, every time it sends/receives bots, it moves all remaining bots in the outbound folder to the inbound folder so th outbound doesn't get piled high with hundreds of bots. Another way of fixing this would be to send/receive more bots, I suppose, but that would also mean that bots are mixed more, and weather that is good or not is a matter of opinion.
"I cannot persuade myself that a beneficent and omnipotent God would have designedly created parasitic wasps with the express intention of their feeding within the living bodies of Caterpillars."

-Charles Darwin

Offline ashton15

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2010, 12:31:57 PM »
my antivirus tries eat the hack and darwinots itself (Norton) So I've just told it to make an exeption for the two files

Offline happyhamsterchan

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2010, 12:46:43 PM »
Quote from: Numsgil
Quote from: happyhamsterchan
What antivirus you got? or... maybe it DOES have a keylogger!

I will just say I'm surprised you can type with one hand.

edit: hmm, that's either too subtle or not nearly subtle enough

ya, I don't get it...

btw norton is for losers! clamAV ftw!
I AM THE...

AWESOME...

FUN...

TURTLE!!!!!

Offline Moonfisher

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 592
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2010, 01:45:33 PM »
Alright, I'm gonna give it a shot.
Got this alge I've been wanting to try on IM, very simple, not hard to live off, but spreads a virus wich spreads random genes, and a virus that causes the infected bot to occasionaly rape other bots (Of any species, and nothing like 99 .sexrepro store, I think it's 40% if I remember correcly)

So basicaly it's suposed to shake things up a bit, the idea isn't to see how the alge does, but if it'll help infected bots evolve faster. (The rape gene doesn't trigger too often, so it shouldn't overpower the bot's behavior)

Not sure if it'll work, but been wanting to try it out for a while, so I hope this hack fix works. (And thanks in advance Sammeh)

Also, the last few times I tried IM I kept getting intra sim bots teleported in from old sims... mainly Flyfruit... so if that happens again I'll apologize in advance, I'm not trying to spread that thing again, I'm trying to get rid of it. (If you get them in your sim an easy way to get rid of them without stopping the sim, is just to reduce alge energy gain and disable viruses on your alge.)


Oh and Nums, it's too subtle... what do you mean? Whats he doing with the other hand?


EDIT: WOHO! It works! And no flyfruits, and I got a Pig
« Last Edit: May 11, 2010, 02:04:10 PM by Moonfisher »

Offline bacillus

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 907
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2010, 01:04:46 AM »
*Groan* I should really get in gear and install DB...
"They laughed at Columbus, they laughed at Fulton, they laughed at the Wright brothers. But they also laughed at Bozo the Clown."
- Carl Sagan

Offline Billy

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2010, 12:58:40 PM »
Another cool feature would be to have an internal nickname system, and be able to see who else is online.   Also, an internet populations feature would be great, but I can't see how that would be possible.
"I cannot persuade myself that a beneficent and omnipotent God would have designedly created parasitic wasps with the express intention of their feeding within the living bodies of Caterpillars."

-Charles Darwin

Offline Ammeh

  • Queen of the Internets
  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
INTERNET MODE FIX (working solution, fairly smooth)
« Reply #14 on: May 14, 2010, 01:54:48 PM »
hit me up in IRC if you want features, I have a memory like a fish, it'll probably only get done if I do it right then and there