Author Topic: How to start helping?  (Read 3575 times)

Offline Tj3

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
How to start helping?
« on: March 17, 2010, 07:59:03 PM »
Hi. I found out about DB a week or so ago, and am very interested in it. I am a decent C# programmer, and have experience in 2D and 3D development with XNA, so I think I could help with development of Darwinbots 3. I was just wondering how I could get started with this, since I'd really like to help.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2010, 08:00:01 PM by Tj3 »

Offline Numsgil

• Administrator
  • Bot God
    • View Profile
How to start helping?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 01:24:54 PM »
Sure, I'd love to have some more help.  See the wiki for basic how-to-get-started help.  If you've already done some programming with C# and XNA you'll find it rather easy to get started.

If you're comfortable with shaders I'd love someone going in to the graphics engine as it stands right now and implementing circles/ovals.  Basically there's a shader set up right now to draw squares.  If we modify that shader, we can draw pixel-perfect circles without adding any extra geometry (use a x^2 + y^2 <= r^2 test in texture space).  I have other projects you could work on also, but if you're already comfortable with graphics programming, this would be the most straightforward work.

Offline Tj3

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
How to start helping?
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2010, 04:14:13 PM »
Unfortunately, shaders are one thing I haven't really done much with. I have an XNA book somewhere, though, so Ill see what I can find out from it. If you want, I could also just work on some other parts of the program, which might be better, since I'm more comfortable with some other things.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2010, 04:14:35 PM by Tj3 »

Offline Numsgil

• Administrator
  • Bot God
    • View Profile
How to start helping?
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2010, 04:18:30 PM »