Author Topic: Hello  (Read 4104 times)

Offline MetalPaladin

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Hello
« on: March 08, 2010, 12:13:05 AM »
I've been holding my breath for the emails to start going out again so I could validate my account, thanks for fixing that Nums.

Hi guys, new to the forum and Darwinbots, I've always wanted to use a program like this, just never thought to google "evolution simulator" lol. I'm still learning my way around the programs and around the DNA. In particular I was having a lot of trouble getting my veggies to grow. If anyone could help with that it'd be much appreciated. Shouldn't this work:
Code: [Select]
' Defining Variables
def cellage 150
.cellage 500 store
 ' Gene 2 - Growing
cond
   *.robage *.cellage =
start
   .strbody 10 store
   .cellage 500 add
stop

Kind of sad to see so little developers working on the program though. I'd like to help, but only took a class of computer programming in softmore year of high school and don't remember much, we learned java and C++ anyway, not C#. If there's anything I can do though, let me know!

Offline Shasta

• Administrator
  • Bot Destroyer
    • View Profile
Hello
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2010, 01:36:43 AM »
Welcome to the forums!

One reason reason why your veggie is not working is that the ".cellage 500 store" is actually never being executed. All commands must take place within a gene (def is the exception to this, but its not really a command). The other is that it you are mixing up the order of operations in the body of your code.  What you would need is something like:
cond
  *.robage 0 =
start
  500 .cellage store
stop

cond
   *.robage *.cellage =
start
   10 .strbody store
   500 *.cellage add .cellage store 'You also were never actually storing the new value to .cellage
stop