Author Topic: Question for the regulars  (Read 13153 times)

Offline dragonlordged

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2009, 12:20:59 PM »
So when I run the BuildAll scripts, I get a 'Visual Studio 9 cannot be found' error. I've tried reinstalling Visual Studio, but had no luck. I believe I have all the dependencies installed correctly. Any ideas?
« Last Edit: December 02, 2009, 12:31:34 PM by dragonlordged »

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #16 on: December 02, 2009, 01:33:53 PM »
Which version of visual studio do you have?  You'll need at least 2008. I have only tested it with express and pro. Also what os version are you running?  Any different results if you run as admin?

If you have vs2010, it should work but I haven't added support in the scripts yet.

You also don't need to run build all. The binaries are checked in already. It's mostly there as a fallback.

Offline dragonlordged

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #17 on: December 02, 2009, 01:38:17 PM »
I've got vs 2008 (9.0) and am running it in Vista. I didn't try running as admin, but I'll try that. I'm not sure how it's expecting to find Visual Studio in the path that it's looking in, but we'll see if it can find it now, after I finish reinstalling.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #18 on: December 02, 2009, 01:51:05 PM »
It looks in your registry to find paths, actually.

Offline dragonlordged

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #19 on: December 02, 2009, 02:26:33 PM »
Well, it's not finding Visual Studio. I'm confused. I'll look at it later.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2009, 03:38:53 PM »
Do you have 2008 express, pro, team, or something more exotic?

Offline dragonlordged

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #21 on: December 02, 2009, 04:46:40 PM »
Express.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #22 on: December 02, 2009, 05:48:54 PM »
Can you check out the scripts and find which registry key they're looking for?  And then check the registry yourself and see what lives there?

Offline dragonlordged

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #23 on: December 02, 2009, 06:41:34 PM »
Okay, the line I think pertains is in SetUpVSPath in the Helper Scripts.

FOR /F "usebackq tokens=3 delims=   " %%R IN (`"reg query HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VCSExpress\9.0 /v InstallDir | find ":\""`) DO SET DB3_DEVENV_PATH=%%R

At HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VCSExpress\9.0 is a folder containing a bunch of registry stuff for Visual Studio, as I expected. I'm not sure I get what /v InstallDir | find ":""`) does, though.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #24 on: December 02, 2009, 08:13:19 PM »
Okay, under that registry folder you should have an InstallDir key. What is the value it has?

Offline dragonlordged

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #25 on: December 02, 2009, 08:53:21 PM »
It's C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE, which is where my devenv application is located.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #26 on: December 02, 2009, 09:15:51 PM »
Hmm, can you try running your IDE from the command line using that path?  Things should work...  You can also try turning echo on in those batch files and see if something is weird looking.

Offline dragonlordged

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #27 on: December 02, 2009, 11:41:08 PM »
It seems to be the correct path, and echoing SetUpVSPath shows exactly what I expected (fails to find Visual Studio and VCExpress), but I've still got nothing.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #28 on: December 03, 2009, 12:23:47 AM »
I'm stuck using my iPhone till Friday so I can't help debug too much.  Good mews is that you don't have to use the scripts. The binaries are in the bin directory and the scripts just build using the regular solution files.

O you can also just post the complete output of the scripts with echo on.  I might beable to point you in a useful direction.

Offline dragonlordged

  • Bot Neophyte
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Question for the regulars
« Reply #29 on: December 03, 2009, 04:26:34 PM »
So yeah, the problem currently is that, since I can't just run the scripts and watch it compile, I can't seem to find anything central (which would be the optimal place to put console features). I've tried building a few of the projects in the repository, but most of them will build and will not run "A project with output type of class library cannot be started directly." I mean, I can see that this project is very modular based on your svn setup, but there's got to be something central to the project in some sense. Any ideas?