Author Topic: Simulating animal fighting and ESS  (Read 3040 times)

Offline Sand

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Simulating animal fighting and ESS
« on: August 14, 2009, 06:23:34 PM »
Hi,

the newbie section is perhaps not the best place for this topic, feel free to move it.

Anyway, I am a newbie but thoroughly enjoy DarwinBots. I got an idea I would really like to try out in DB, but I don't feel capable of it. At least not without help. The following is what I want to do.

First some background
Biology, ethology and evolution is fun even for laypeople like me. A good example of that are the different ingenious simulations/experiments that has been done over the years. Maynard Smith was (among many other things) interested in fighting behavior in animals. Say that animals (of the same species) need  to compete with each other for a certain resource. If another individual beat you to it, it may be a good idea to fight her over it. Of Course, fighting involves certain risks and therefore it may not always be good idea or more importantly you need to pick your fights. Maynard Smith came up with five different strategies a animal could employ and wanted to see which was a 'evolutionary stable strategy' (ESS). A ESS is basically a strategy that is successful when the animal employing the strategy is facing individuals using the same strategy. The reason that ESS is defined in that manner is because if a certain strategy is successful in a population, that strategy will soon be the most common and hence animals using that strategy have to face a lot of animals employing the same strategy.

His five strategies were:
1. Fight conventionally, retreat if opponent proves to be stronger or if opponent escalates.
2. Fight at escalated level. Retreat only if injured.
3. Start conventionally. Escalate only if opponent escalates.
4. Start conventionally. Escalate only if opponent continues to fight conventionally.