Author Topic: Bot Spatial Ecology in DB  (Read 3116 times)

Offline coralcommando

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Bot Spatial Ecology in DB
« on: January 23, 2009, 02:56:31 PM »
Help!

Sorry if I've posted in the wrong area, please feel free to re-post this, or advise me where to re-post it to get help, but I am pretty new to DB.  I noticed that DB can output interesting things like Species Diversity and population numbers over time in a graphical output. Also when setting up a simulation you can vary some spatial aspects of the simulation environment using pond mode. For example have more light at the top than at the bottom, due to sedimentation and light attenuation. This spatial element can cause some interesting zonation in the veggie autotrophs and thus in the carnivores. What I'd really like to do is find a way to output some of this information into a graph format, musch like the diversity and population numbers. For example population per depth over time, density, number of neighbours, proximity to carnivores amongst other things.

So For example, in one simulation I found veggies at the bottom tended to be big and only in small colonies / few neighbours, but at the top they are smaller and grouped with far more neighbours - I'm trying to find a way to out put this in a graph, such as average number of neighbours (of same species) over time.

However I'm no programmer so I have no idea how to go about getting this information out of a DB simulation. I presume it must be possible some how, as its being represented graphically in the pixels and sprites that make up the bots, beautifully whizzing around the screen! So if anyone knows of a spatial analysis package or away to tweek DB to do these things, please could you post it here!

Thank you!

Offline Shasta

• Administrator
  • Bot Destroyer
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2009, 01:47:19 AM »