Author Topic: Internet Mode  (Read 2254 times)

Offline Gambit

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« on: April 27, 2008, 08:41:36 PM »
It sounds amazing and I'm dying to test out my Communitus_Friendlius but I cant get it to work. I dont know what to put in the FTP Server box

I'm running 2.43.1j

"run-time error '5'"
"invalid procedure call or argument"

"C:\Program Files\DarwinBots\F1leaguetable.txt doesnt exist"

thats what I keep getting when I try to do the F1 league thingamajig


and internet sharing gives me

"run time error '76'"
"path not found"

both of these suggest I'm missing program files. where can I download em?

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2008, 08:57:01 PM »
All you should have to do to run IM is press the toolbar button.  Everything is defaulted internally.  The server name, etc. is ignored.

Are you running Vista?  Be sure you run DB as a local admin...

You did run the 2.1 install before you downloaded 2.43.1j, right?
« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 08:57:31 PM by EricL »
Many beers....

Offline Gambit

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2008, 09:00:06 PM »
no vista

yes I have the 2.1 but this one is inside a folder inside the 2.1 directory. should I move it out into the open with the 2.1 exe?

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2008, 09:01:27 PM »
Quote from: Gambit
should I move it out into the open with the 2.1 exe?
Yes.  That is likely the issue.
Many beers....

Offline Gambit

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2008, 09:08:13 PM »
wel no errors...

and I've just been invaded by "spinner moonfish"

thanks. its working now.

Offline bacillus

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 907
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2008, 09:10:09 PM »
Anyone getting any Detonators? I've got about 5000 in my sim.
"They laughed at Columbus, they laughed at Fulton, they laughed at the Wright brothers. But they also laughed at Bozo the Clown."
- Carl Sagan

Offline Gambit

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2008, 09:11:59 PM »
lol thanks for the algea eric. rofl

anyone get communitus friendlius?

says theres nine online...



AGH yer algea is moving...

and I just had to quit. a CF mutated that dang breeding disorder...
« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 09:15:16 PM by Gambit »

Offline bacillus

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 907
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2008, 09:20:10 PM »
My stats say you've got 69 bots  
Pull up populations from the graphs and compare it with the internet sim populations, that way you'll know if any of your bots survived outside your sim.
"They laughed at Columbus, they laughed at Fulton, they laughed at the Wright brothers. But they also laughed at Bozo the Clown."
- Carl Sagan

Offline Gambit

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2008, 09:22:39 PM »
are there rules against sending nasty bots across the internet and ruining sims?

-cough- T_Permibulis -cough-

lol I'm sending you a doosie. just gotta make it.



man those moonfishers... my machine cant handle em.

I got 1.7ghz processor

and 512mb ram

whats average for this program?
« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 09:25:38 PM by Gambit »

Offline bacillus

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 907
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2008, 09:25:42 PM »
I think T Permeablis is a stupid bot I made a long time ago using poison, virus and slime. If you plan to release anything that wipes everything, stick with Etch MKII. There is a limit as to how many bots you can send out, so you'll just end up ruining your own sim. Go ahead!
Besides, not many bots survive outside their own sim for long.
"They laughed at Columbus, they laughed at Fulton, they laughed at the Wright brothers. But they also laughed at Bozo the Clown."
- Carl Sagan

Offline Gambit

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2008, 09:27:45 PM »
lol BOT WAR!!!

rofl I need to get better before I tackle that...

you seen CF in action yet?

Offline bacillus

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 907
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2008, 09:29:38 PM »
CF? No, I've been running for two hours and anything that teleports in instantly gets zapped by detonators. Although they have dropped to 2300. Strange....

Heh, someone's trying out my Sentinel. I wrote a new version and can't remember if I posted it or not.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 09:30:49 PM by bacillus »
"They laughed at Columbus, they laughed at Fulton, they laughed at the Wright brothers. But they also laughed at Bozo the Clown."
- Carl Sagan

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2008, 09:32:07 PM »
There are no rules in the current IM as long as you stick within the confines of the simulator code (meaning you introduce whatever bots you want, run whatever physicis or costs you want, run as many different machiens as you want, etc. but if you start writing your own code to talk to the FTP server directly to spam or cheat the the system, I am going to have words with you).

There are many things that influence performance and there are detailed posts of the subject but bot proximity is perhaps the second biggest factor (after total number of bots).  Non-intuitivly, running a larger field size, all else being equal, will speed up your sim considerably as it allows the code to ignore cases where bots are too far away to see each other, etc.
Many beers....

Offline Gambit

  • Bot Builder
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2008, 09:34:09 PM »
lol I have an idea

maybe CFs come in and eat about 1000 detanators each before dying.

lol its sending me my own death bots now...

basically I reprogrammed the CF to HAVE the breeding disorder.




you know. me programming in the disorder doesnt work near as well as them getting it accidentally... I'm goona save a mutants DNA for this purpose...
« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 09:36:58 PM by Gambit »

Offline bacillus

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 907
    • View Profile
Internet Mode
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2008, 09:37:44 PM »
I hope you didn't expect that "invasive breeder" to do anything; it landed in a patch with virtually no food and died within seconds. Next time, make it an autotroph so it becomes a veggies, and give it a ridiculous amount of nrg per cycle.

Warning: Trespassers will be digested
 
"They laughed at Columbus, they laughed at Fulton, they laughed at the Wright brothers. But they also laughed at Bozo the Clown."
- Carl Sagan