Author Topic: Thoughts on speciation  (Read 3558 times)

Offline The_Duck

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Thoughts on speciation
« on: April 07, 2008, 01:31:27 AM »
Disclaimer: I'm new to this, so take the below with as many grains of salt as you think prudent.

As I understand it, the steady state of pretty much all evosims, when run long enough, is one with exactly two species: one heterotroph and one autotroph. There's simply not enough diversity in the environment to support many species: two heterotroph species or two autotroph species are always competing for the same resources, and one of them will be better at getting them, and will win out. This is a bad thing if we want complex ecosystems to evolve.

We can create some diversity in the environment by running several sim instances connected by teleports. We can even create a "frontier" by making a bunch of sims in a row with gradually changing settings, ranging from easy-living to extreme unlivable conditions. Someone should try this; I think it will induce speciation as organisms emerge that can survive farther and farther into the frontier.

However, this is not enough; while a frontier like this might induce speciation, the two species won't mix; they will stick to their own habitats, to which they are best adapted, and repel intruders. We want to get two species to coexist stably in the same sim.

OK, how about looking at real life. In nature, animal species always differ in certain key areas, or they would compete too fiercely with each other and one would die out. Species distinguish themselves by things like
-what they eat
-where in the habitat they live (I.e., tree-dwellers and ground-dwellers)
-the size scale they live on (I.e., insects do not really compete with mammals, even though they may live in the same places and eat the same stuff)
-any other important stuff?