Author Topic: Tracking Errors / Bugs etc.  (Read 4372 times)

Offline Greven

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Tracking Errors / Bugs etc.
« on: March 22, 2005, 05:05:00 PM »
This is a bit diffucult to describe, but I will give it a try:

I have gone through some of the old source code (2.35 I think) of DB and it seems DB just use:
Code: [Select]
Randomize Timer
This leads the random numbers are based on the what the "Timer" currently is, what you all know, but my suggestion is therefore:

Have an option when you setup the simulation, where you can choose which value you would like or just use the timer, or none at all...

And why is that????

Because it enableds the possibility to make complete re-runs of the same simulation, with exactly the same outcome.

1. The programmers can detect problems, such as run-time errors

I do not know that running two simulations on different computers with identical
settings will produce the same result.

Just some thoughts

Hope you will understand it!
10010011000001110111110100111011001101100100000110110111000011101011110010110000
011000011000001100010110010111101001110100110010111100101000001000001111001011101
001101001110011011010011100011110100111000011101100100000100110011010011100110110
010110000011100111101001110110111101011101100110000111101001101001110111111011101
01100100000111010011010001100001110111010000010001001000010100001

Offline Greven

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Tracking Errors / Bugs etc.
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2005, 05:44:55 PM »
Okay nobody seems to care about my little proposal... :rolleyes:  :D

Just give me ur thoughts on it!
10010011000001110111110100111011001101100100000110110111000011101011110010110000
011000011000001100010110010111101001110100110010111100101000001000001111001011101
001101001110011011010011100011110100111000011101100100000100110011010011100110110
010110000011100111101001110110111101011101100110000111101001101001110111111011101
01100100000111010011010001100001110111010000010001001000010100001

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Tracking Errors / Bugs etc.
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2005, 05:59:04 PM »
Ok Greven , there is really slim chance you activate the simulation on the next day exactly the same Millisecond it was activated this day.

I do descuss also , some randomzing tricks to inprove randobality , let me find a link.

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Tracking Errors / Bugs etc.
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2005, 06:02:18 PM »
Here is the link for it: http://s9.invisionfree.com/DarwinBots_Foru...wtopic=108&st=0

It also talks about:

 *possible ways to make it even more random.

* The fact that "Randomize Timer" and simply "Randomize" is the same thing.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Tracking Errors / Bugs etc.
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2005, 06:05:13 PM »
Greven, Great idea.  Absolutely love it!  Things in the spirit of psuedo-randomness are a love of mine.  Have yuo seen some of the posts I write?  Some take 20 minutes to come together, so if no one is responding right away, give it a sec.

Bots, are you sure that the timer is the same every day at the same time.  In C at least, the timer counts time from Jan 1 1970 at midnight, so the timer is always different.

Greven, If you want to look at the source code as it now stands, tell me.  It's so different from what's on the ftp it's not even funny.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2005, 06:07:24 PM by Numsgil »

Offline Botsareus

  • Society makes it all backwards - there is a good reason for that
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4483
    • View Profile
Tracking Errors / Bugs etc.
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2005, 06:07:22 PM »
Nope , no way NUM , this is vb right here , its from Midnight the same *BEEEP* every day, Need prove? Read MSDN help on visual basic, search for "Randomize function.

P.S.

I like C++ already ;)