Author Topic: Infinate energy  (Read 5001 times)

Offline Trilobite

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Infinate energy
« on: August 09, 2007, 05:48:15 AM »
Hey, I'm new to darwinbots, and I'm having a bit of fun with an older version. Haven't got round to programming any genes or anything, and I'm only just starting to get the grasp of all the different settings, some I'm clueless about but I'm sure I'll figure out in due time.

I got the new version too (2.43?), but there's something peculiar about the new version that I can't get around. Well... any bots that aren't veggies never die (I don't know if veggies are supposed to die with age, but they don't die either). Their energy never goes down even if veggies are absent from the simulation, so the screen gets overloaded and the simulation goes too slow, and none of the 'weaker' bots are getting weeded out. It's like they have infinate energy. I've messed around with the different settings, but because I'm not very sure about them yet I don't know which would help and which wouldn't. Oh, I forgot to add, they breed like crazy.

Anybody know what I should do so that they actually die when there's no food around? Thanks.

(oh, btw, I'm running a sim now and I've noticed they've started dancing around their food before they 'eat' it. It looks so prettyful , doesn't look very practical though...)

Another edit... sorry ;

For mutation rates - I'm kind of fascinated with the evolving aspect, although I've heard people say that's the long hard way to go about it. I'm not good with coding of any kind and although I'll try to learn the DNA code, I'll probably not be very good at it. I've noticed if my global mutation rate is at default, it's too high for simple bots, because when they get good genes, sometimes they're eliminated accidentaly because bots with handicapping genes are too frequent (eg loss of ability to move) and just accidentally get bumped into the right places where food is...