Author Topic: Zero Bot  (Read 3840 times)

Offline Martian

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Zero Bot
« on: May 03, 2007, 08:28:12 AM »
Hi! I'm rather new to darwinbots.

Can someone please tell me how to evolve a zerobot. What settings, how many bots, what veggies, physics and suchlike.

I have tried a few times but got nowhere.

Offline Numsgil

• Administrator
  • Bot God
    • View Profile
Zero Bot
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2007, 10:48:55 PM »
The trick is to start with an environment that is as forgiving as possible.  Then, when you have a bot that you think a good stock can come from (such as a shooter, or a reproducer, etc.) you isolate it and turn up the heat, so to speak, by introducing some (very slight) costs.

Then just keep cranking up the costs and your bots will hopefully adapt.  Still, don't expect too much.  A bot that can feed, move, and reproduce is about as cutting edge as anyone's managed to get.  Nothing yet that can even begin to compete with bots in the leagues, for instance.

Offline Endy

• Bot Overlord
    • View Profile
Zero Bot
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2007, 01:59:22 AM »
There's no single setting for evolving a zerobot that'll work. I'll try to describe at least some of what I've seen work and what I've heard from others working.

Numbers of bots:
To start I'd recommend a large number of bots between 60 and 100. This helps speed things up somewhat since you'll have more bots randomly mutating, increasing the chance at least one bot will hit upon the ability to reproduce.

Veggies:
Personally I use feeder veggies that both feed and initially force reproduction upon the zerobots.
Some other methods include the zerobots themselves starting as veggies, feeder veggies with manual reproduction, and simply waiting until point mutations cause spontaneous reproduction.

Physics: