Author Topic: Hello!  (Read 3617 times)

Offline Marax

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Hello!
« on: March 12, 2007, 11:42:06 AM »
Hi, I'm new to darwinbots!  

Now that the pleasantries are taken care of I have some questions.

1. I have two computers, on my laptop db works fine, but on my stationary computer the memory of the bots g crazy after about 500 cycles. Is this a common bug, and is there a workaround to this?

2. I made a bot that I find is very cool, but I want it to tie like a worm, two ties per bot (exept the ones at the end) and only tie to their own race, any suggstions on how to do that?

3. Is there a sysvar to instantly kill a bot? A virus I made used cancerous reproduction and .vshoot to eliminate cells, but my laptop cant handle too many bots at a given time

Edit:

4. Is there a way to force mutationrates on a bot with a virus? (Fallout anyone? )

5. Mutated bots change color! I want my virus to change colors too!

6. And I dont understand the * in front of sysvars.... I feel stupid....

/Edit

Cheers!
    ~Marax
« Last Edit: March 12, 2007, 04:26:36 PM by Marax »
I laugh in the face of danger!
 Then I hide untill it goes away...

Offline Jez

• Bot Overlord
    • View Profile
Hello!
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2007, 06:03:06 PM »
Hiya Marax! Its great to see you here on the forum.  

I'll have a go at answering some of your questions.

2. Light is our 'official' multi-bot master,   I'm sure he, or another MB writer will be able to give a much better answer than me pointing to some examples of how to do this, in the meantime though do you fancy posting your bot in the bot tavern? Quite often it's not as easy as just adding a few genes to a bot because you have to balance the affect with all the other genes. It's much easier if you can see the dna you are changing!