Author Topic: Self Inflicting Virus  (Read 4502 times)

Offline kage

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
Self Inflicting Virus
« on: November 27, 2006, 06:24:42 PM »
Hey, I'm really new to DB and have had a problem making my bot. I basically copied the animal minimalus in the tutorial made to generate viruses, but altered it slightly.  My goal was to make them cause the other bots to reproduce so rapidly that they died, but it seems to infect my own bots right at the start before they can generate the virus. Here is the coding I have for it:

Code: [Select]
cond
 *.robage 0 =
start
 7 989 store
stop

cond
 *.vitmer 0 =
start
50 .repro store .mkvirus store
stop

cond
 7 *989 !=
start
 *.thisgene 1 rnd 2 mult -1 add add .delgene store
stop

cond
 *.eye5 0 >
 *.refeye *.myeye !=
start
 *.refveldx .dx store
 *.refvelup 30 add .up store
 50 .vshoot store
stop

cond
 *.eye5 50 >
 *.refeye *.myeye !=
start
-1 .shoot store
 *.refvelup .up store
stop

cond
 *.eye5 0 =
 *.refeye *.myeye = or
start
 314 rnd .aimdx store
stop

cond
 *.nrg 15000 >
start
 30 .repro store
stop
end

Please let me know what I did wrong
« Last Edit: November 27, 2006, 06:25:55 PM by kage »

Offline Numsgil

• Administrator
  • Bot God
    • View Profile
Self Inflicting Virus
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2006, 06:55:41 PM »
Welcome.  DNA takes a bit of practice, but you should be able to pick it up fairly quickly.

The problem is that you replaced code in the wrong places.  The first gene is the one that fires the virus.  The second one is the actual virus.  Here's what I think you meant to do:

cond
  *.vtimer 0 =
 start
3 .mkvirus store
 stop

cond
  7 *989 !=
 start
  50 .repro store
 stop

That should do what you want (just replace the 2nd and 3rd genes in your bot with these.

This is a little more stable against viruses infecting your own bots:

cond
   *.vtimer 0 =
  start
 *.thisgene 1 add .mkvirus store
  stop

cond
   7 *989 !=
  start
   50 .repro store
  stop

Offline kage

• Bot Neophyte