Author Topic: system variables meanings  (Read 4981 times)

Offline wachtwoord

• Bot Neophyte
    • View Profile
system variables meanings
« on: October 10, 2006, 12:09:09 PM »
Hi,

I'm new to this but it seems like fun and I study computer science so I should be able to do this.

I'm having trouble finding a acomplete list of all the sysvars meanings, like at *.up you can put the acceleration in the upwards direction for the comming cycle. There are loads more of these variables and I would like to find a complete list of them with their meanings.

Another thing I came across is the following:

If I run the following bot:

Code: [Select]
'bot

end

I keep getting more and more bots, how come? it does not have a gene to reproduce (it doesn't have gene's at all). This behaviour also shows with a trivial first gene.

Thanks in advance

Offline PurpleYouko

• Bot God
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2006, 01:11:48 PM »
For a complete list of all sysvars and their equivalent memory locations open up /DarwinbotsII/Sysvars2.21.txt in a file viewer such as Notepad.

For a complete (well almost anyway) description of what they do and how to use them, in-game, click the HELP menu. There is a chuffing great list of information in there on exactly what they all do. I spent ages putting all that up there and nobody ever even bothers to look at it.  

For the reason that empty bots keep reproducing..... Use V2.37.6 (or the newer 2,37 versions) where that doesn't happen.

2.37.6 is still the official version for combat bots but the 2.4x versions get used primarily for evolution SIMs. I can't answer much about the mechanics of 2.4x since I really only programmed up to 2.37 and am now on a legthy programming break due to insufficient time to get stuck into it again.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2006, 01:13:09 PM by PurpleYouko »
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline wachtwoord

• Bot Neophyte