Author Topic: Tie defences  (Read 5833 times)

Offline Light

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
Tie defences
« on: March 03, 2005, 03:15:33 PM »
When a robot ties to you give him a nasty shock with this gene, it will delete his genes B)
Code: [Select]
cond
  *.numties 0 >
  *.robage 2 >
start
  *.tiepres .tienum store
  .delgene .tieloc store
  1 .tieval store
stop
You can also try changing the .delgene to something else, the possibilities are endless, poor tie feeders  :bigginangel: although these genes can be used in reverse as a weapon for tie feeders

Offline PurpleYouko

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
Tie defences
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2005, 04:41:07 PM »
Shouldn't be possible to use delgene this way in 2.5.

I put a system in place to stop delgene working from anywhere other than the robot's own DNA

Have you actually tried this gene?

 :unsure:  PY  :unsure:
There are 10 kinds of people in the world
Those who understand binary.
and those who don't

:D PY :D

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Tie defences
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2005, 04:54:05 PM »
delgene's through ties still work.

Deathgrip uses it.

Offline Light

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
Tie defences
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2005, 05:00:49 PM »
just tried it again and yep it definatly works in 2.35 and in 2.36, also Death grip (database) uses it as a weapon, I remember you stopping .delgene being activated by venom and poison but dont remember anyone mentioning ties, but yes I agree it should be removed, I assume you can use it with other variables okay like .repro instead?

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Tie defences
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2005, 05:02:36 PM »
Definately.  But using .repro would be tricky since you will usually be blocking the only space the cell can repro into.

Offline Light

  • Bot Destroyer
  • ***
  • Posts: 245
    • View Profile
Tie defences
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2005, 05:10:26 PM »
true, you would have to link it to some sort of movement command, but the possibility is there to play with