Author Topic: Getting stucked bug  (Read 2105 times)

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Getting stucked bug
« on: May 06, 2006, 09:34:08 AM »
I have found out that whenever a bot or veggie produces an offspring they will get stucked on the screen and unaffected by brownian motion. That must be a bug. I don't think that has been addressed in 2.42.3b either.
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7722
    • View Profile
Getting stucked bug
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2006, 11:49:00 AM »
It's not a bug per se because it just means they're fixed.  The real question is why are they getting fixed.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Getting stucked bug
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2006, 11:56:23 AM »
Well, I think it breaks the laws of physics if a bot can get stucked in a turbulent liquid. And why does it only do that after it has produced an offspring?
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7722
    • View Profile
Getting stucked bug
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2006, 12:06:25 PM »
The idea of "fixed" is that it simulates something with roots or suckers that has attached itself to either the glass pane (if you think of Darwinbots as an aquarium) or ground (if you think of Darwinbots as an overhead shot).
 
 A bot can be fixed, to my knowledge, in several ways:
 
 1.  It can write a non zero value to .fixed
 2.  It can develop alzheimers and have a non zero value written there
 3.  Another bot can write to .fixed through shots or ties
 
 If you eliminate all these three possibilities, you might have found a bug.
 
 Note that fixed bots pass on their fixed status to their children.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Getting stucked bug
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2006, 02:42:01 PM »
Well... If it's supposed to be a glass pane where the bots can attach themselves, then it makes sense. I just didn't thought it was programmed like that. But if this is the case it makes perfectly sense. It's just that I think it's odd that they only do it if they have produced an offspring. THAT doesn't make sense. The ones that haven't reproduced floot around as usual.
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7722
    • View Profile
Getting stucked bug
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2006, 03:26:39 PM »
Force one to reproduce by opening the console of one and typing "set .repro 50" (or it might be other syntax combination, I can never remember).

There might also be a button on the robot details that says "Reproduce" or "reproduction" or something like that.  Try clicking that and making the bot reproduce.

If the bot was unstuck before and after this forced reproduction becomes fixed, or its child becomes fixed, we might indeed have an odd error.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Getting stucked bug
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2006, 07:29:14 PM »
They don't get stuck when I click reproduce, only when they reproduce themselves. Here is a bot that is stuck and has reproduced. Do you see anything in the DNA that could cause it to get stuck?

 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd xor
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 start
 angle rnd and
 pyth inc
 mod stop
 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 sqr 0 0 -9
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Getting stucked bug
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2006, 08:08:25 PM »
What is the waste threshold and what is this bot's waste?  Altzheimer's fixing the bot is a prime suspect....
Many beers....

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7722
    • View Profile
Getting stucked bug
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2006, 08:45:01 PM »
It's that virally related gene I posted about in the other thread.
 
Code: [Select]
  start
  angle rnd xor
  pyth inc
  mod stop

 This gene will randomly increment all sorts of random sysvars.  One of those sysvars is probably .fixpos

This is really quite exciting!  That gene has the potential of being the first reproductively effective "wild" gene ever seen!
« Last Edit: May 06, 2006, 08:45:46 PM by Numsgil »

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
    • Games And Electronica
Getting stucked bug
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2006, 08:53:36 AM »
Yeah, it's from the same sim that I've posted about in the 'Simplest evo starting bot' topic. But all my saves have gotten corrupted.  
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.