Author Topic: Why aren't you using 2.42?  (Read 23319 times)

Offline EricL

• Administrator
  • Bot God
    • View Profile
Why aren't you using 2.42?
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2006, 02:26:43 AM »
Wow.  This is so... disillusioning.  I suppose I should have done my homework before investing time and energy on something people are so strongly divided on.   As a newbie, I assumed that there had been consensus (or at least tremendous community input) on the direction taken in 2.4 and that people lingered on 2.37 today only because 2.4 functionality was buggy or incomplete.  That given sufficient stability, functionality and active, technical investment in bug fixing and feature parity by an enthusastic and technicaly capable party, the community would converge on a 2.4 derritive.  I assumed there was a plan.  I now stand corrected.

I had likewise assumed that there had been considerable community input into the feature set of the C++ version and that it was a no brainer that people would similarly move to that once it also acheived an acceptable level of feature parity and robustness.  But given this thread, how can I not but question whether that is indeed the case?

Hmmm....  

I have no interest in spending time on something people care nothing about.  Yet, there are features I have strong personal interest in implementing, if only for my own enjoyment.  Doing that off the 2.37 code base seems silly (to me) given the investment I have made in 2.42.X.  I, for one, certainly do not consider 2.4 'abandoned' having spent the better part of the past month working on it.  Those who do are welcome to continue to live in the past on a stagnent code base.  

Similarly, while I assume Nums is a brilliant individual with tremendous vision, until it has gained significant community support (or someone can demonstrate to me that it has a high probability of doing so) I find my motivation for investment on the C++ code base at the present time highly diminished.