Author Topic: Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?  (Read 4826 times)

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« on: March 21, 2006, 03:48:00 PM »
I have blocked UNCHECKED on the first tab, but it looks like the veggies are stucked "in air". They apear complete frozen and nothing happens. tried tweaking the amount of energy and change between 'Veggie per cycle' and 'kilobody point' on the general tab. nothing happens.
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2006, 03:52:39 PM »
What are your physics settings on the Physics and Costs tab?
Many beers....

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2006, 03:54:11 PM »
Well, it was strange. I tried to check and uncheck and start a new simulation. Finally I made to wake up the veggies. Must have been some temporary glitch in the GUI.
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2006, 03:55:46 PM »
let me know if you figure out the repro steps...
Many beers....

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2006, 03:58:51 PM »
On the physics and cost tab I have the following settings: Thin Fluid, Biological, none, animal. On the Advanced costs I have only changed planate eaters to G 1. The rest are default values. Can't have anything less than 10 in brownian motion, wish pisses me off. Hope that will be fixed  -_-
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2006, 04:24:50 PM »
I don't understand the Brownian motion comment.  My Brownian Motion slider goes to 0.  Does yours not?
Many beers....

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2006, 04:36:42 PM »
I can pull it to any value I want. What I mean is that when I go out from the GUI and go back in it is reset to 10. The same goes for some other settings too, like Brownian Movement keeps going back to Animal when I want it to stay on Bacteria.
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline Griz

  • Bot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2006, 05:12:19 PM »
Quote
I can pull it to any value I want. What I mean is that when I go out from the GUI and go back in it is reset to 10. The same goes for some other settings too, like Brownian Movement keeps going back to Animal when I want it to stay on Bacteria.
yes. not all setting reload.
also ... seems like launching 2.4 for the first session ...
costs all default to zero ... which I keep forgetting to reset.
so there are a few of these settings that don't get uploaded.
不知
~griz~
[/color]
   "The selection of Random Numbers is too important to be left to Chance"
The Mooj  a friend to all humanity
[/color]

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2006, 05:31:24 PM »
Figured out the brownian motion thing:

The slider is being set to 10 * Brownian motion value when it loads up.  Note that the actual brownian motion values are correct until you load up the brownian motion slider.

In effect, the act of observing the brownian motion slider changes what it actually is.

Kind of heisenburgy.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2006, 07:00:35 PM »
Excellent.  Just fixed this in my fork.  Changed line 230 in PhsyicsOptions.frm (the routine Form_Activate) from

Code: [Select]
MiscSlider(2).value = .PhysBrown * 100to
Code: [Select]
MiscSlider(2).value = .PhysBrown * 10
-E
« Last Edit: March 21, 2006, 07:01:03 PM by EricL »
Many beers....

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2006, 08:25:12 PM »
Okay, I found and fixed another UI bug that was at the root of the Movement Effeciency and Brownian Motion combo box value persist problems.

I changed this code in DispSettings() in OptionsForm.frm (line1696)

Code: [Select]
If TmpOpts.PhysMoving >= 1# Then
    BrownianCombo.text = BrownianCombo.list(0)
  ElseIf TmpOpts.PhysMoving >= 0.66 Then
    BrownianCombo.text = BrownianCombo.list(1)
  Else
    BrownianCombo.text = BrownianCombo.list(2)
  End If
to this:
Code: [Select]
'EricL 3/21/2006 Changed from BrownianCombo to EfficiencyCombo in the section below to fix UI bug.  Cut and Paste error?
  If TmpOpts.PhysMoving >= 1 Then
    EfficiencyCombo.text = EfficiencyCombo.list(0)
  ElseIf TmpOpts.PhysMoving >= 0.66 Then
    EfficiencyCombo.text = EfficiencyCombo.list(1)
  Else
    EfficiencyCombo.text = EfficiencyCombo.list(2)
  End If
Looks like a cut and paste problem.   Also, the # in the first chunk of code isn't my typo - it was really there and the code still compiled.  Anybody know enough VB to tell me what it did?  Anyway, I removed the # and changed the lines to refer to the right control and now both controls appear to work and persist properly.

Note that this was just another Heisenburgian UI bug as far as I can tell.  It only impacts the display, not the actual values used during a sim.

-E
Many beers....

Offline Numsgil

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 7742
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2006, 08:35:07 PM »
I believe 1# means 1 as a decimal value (ie: 1.0000) instead of an integral value.

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2006, 08:39:06 PM »
You think you can make an exe of that too, Eric! I've waited sooo long for this!
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.

Offline EricL

  • Administrator
  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2266
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2006, 08:50:37 PM »
On it's way to you.
Many beers....

Offline Testlund

  • Bot God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Aren't the veggies supposed to move a little?
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2006, 08:59:52 PM »
Wonderful!
The internet is corrupt and controlled by criminally minded people.